mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Come On! This Chick's Gotta Be Colorblind.

For Cherrrybomb, that Martha-Minx of a gal!

So do you remember when I was bitching about my kitchen? Or maybe you recall when I decided to redo it on the cheap? Well you've seen the "Before" pics now let's see what it looks like "After" -

Ta Dah!

Hey check the groovy curtains that I made myself and my shiny 1950's toaster. Pretty cool, huh and it was done for under $300.00 so take that Laurie Hickson-Smith! Best of all, a friend is in the midst of a remodel on her condo and has gifted me all her major appliances so bye bye noisy, drippy, piss yellow Kelvinator (mine was not nearly that cool) from 1973. Hello 1990 GE model that actually keeps my ice cream in solid form as opposed to vanilla soup! The hideous brown stove, also circa 1973, will be replaced with a matching white GE oven, range, and microwave combo. Do you know how long it has been since I lived in a dwelling where there was a microwave? Too long, I tell you. Invest in microwave popcorn stock 'cause there's gonna be a whole lotta poppin' happening in Seattle!

Well as long as we are examining my digs, lets take a look at my living room. Here's an ottoman I found at the Fremont Sunday Market for $40.00.

Of course the colors go better with the kitchen but it's hard to work in ottoman into our utilitarian setup. Besides, I fear that it's lovely polyester cushions are highly flammable and I can get a little careless when drinking wine a preparing a feast!

Next is our chaise lounge.

Look at Desmond! Isn't he a cutie?

I found this at some thrift store except it was all yellow and ugly. Apparently they used these in the nurses office at public elementary schools throughout the 70's and 80's. I went to a Catholic school where they made you lay on cold linoleum floors when you felt ill because being sick was a punishment from God and obviously you had committed a sin to get into such a condition and so there was no way you deserved comfort or compassion ...... but I digress. When I saw this little number, I knew I had to have it. I also knew it needed to be reupholstered, a skill I do not possess. So I found this fine lady and she gave me a very reasonable deal on the leopard print fabric (yes it's fuzzy) and labor. While at her shop, I saw this....

and of course it had to come home with us too. Pete made the table in the picture with busted up bathroom tile and a few amazing Mexican tiles from Day of the Dead. It weighs a million pounds but it's gorgeous and one of a kind.

Okay, so none of the furniture goes together and maybe my house won't make center spread at Architectural Digest but so what? It's our home and we love it. Please stop by if your ever in the neighborhood.

8:00 p.m. - 2002-07-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife