mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memories......Like the Corners of My Mind

I know that I have mentioned before that Pete and I tied the knot at Graceland but I've never really gone into detail. Getting married was by far the strangest experience I have ever had. For one thing, it's seems utterly ridiculous to stand in front of a group of people (some of whom you may not know very well and others you may not even like) and make such a personal commitment. Add to that the fact that Pete and I tend to be somewhat introverted and very informal and the wedding ritual can really become a recipe for disaster. I think the two of us have never felt so overwhelmed but we knew that we wanted to spend our lives together and we both agreed that we wanted to mark the beginning of that life by doing something fun and memorable.

We debated several options. Las Vegas? Nah, been done to death. Tropical Island? Nope, too corny and I had my doubts about being chosen as Couple of the Month. Bowling alley? Too hard to wear a dress and bowl - especially a big white puffy one. So after much debate and some time online we decided on Graceland Mansion. It fit our specifications in so many ways. It was kitsch. It was closer to NY (where my family is) and Boston (where Pete's family resides) than Seattle. It wasn't too expensive and who could forget a wedding at Graceland? So we chose a date, got ourselves in touch with the special events planner, and started working out all the details for our picture-perfect wedding.

Now, I had never been to Tennessee nor did I know anyone in the area. In fact, my familiarity with the South is limited to what I have learned from watching Designing Woman but I knew there were big white mansions and fried chicken and Sun Studios and of course Elvis! I have to admit my love for Elvis is somewhat impure. I will not preach about his vocal range although I do believe he was one hell of a singer. And you won't hear me espouse upon Elvis's acting ability despite the fact that I believe he gave a brilliant performance in Jailhouse Rock and Viva Las Vegas. I also won't go on and on about the impact Presley has had on every genre of music to date even though it is a pure and simple fact that his influence is everywhere. What I will discuss is whether Elvis is alive and his death was faked by the CIA (or any other conspiracy theory that's out there) or whether fat Elvis or skinny Elvis should be on a postage stamp. Other Elvis topics that interest me include:

1. What 70's costume was cooler - his gold lame jumpsuit or his white one with the rhinestones in the shape of an American eagle?

2. Elvis' blackbelt in karate and what would have happened if he and Bruce Lee got the opportunity to do a movie together?

3. Foods that Elvis ate including deep fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches and fried pickles and fried...well insert fried before any food and you pretty much get the picture.

So, in a nutshell, I am an Elvis fan in a cynical, "I-lived-through-Reaganonics-and-80's-excess" sort of way and not the "I-collect-first-edition-vinyl" manner some other fans pursue. I never imagined my brand of devotion to the King would be frowned upon by Graceland Industries or that I would have to hide the fact that I found the whole event humorous but I soon learned that around Memphis, people take their Elvis very seriously. My first conversation with the event planner went something like this -

Me: My husband and I think this will really be great. I mean how funny will it be to get married in the Car Museum at Gracelend with 'Suspicious Minds' playing in the background? Won't that be hilarious?

EP: I hope you mean fun and not funny. You know, this was Elvis' home and we treat it with respect and reverence. And I really don't think 'Suspicious Minds' is appropriate for a wedding march, do you?

Me: Um, yeah, fun is what I meant. Well maybe we'll use 'In the Ghetto' as our wedding march. I love that part where he sings "and his momma cries...."

EP: Well what about the theme song for Blue Hawaii and we'll play the film on the large screen tv, okay?

I quickly realized that the sense of humor Pete and I possess is not universally funny. When I called EP to request the names of Elvis impersonators in the area who perform wedding ceremonies I was briskly informed that professional Elvis impersonators are not allowed on the property. Apparently, that would be tacky and Graceland is a classy place despite the Jungle Room, you know. So that idea quickly left the building. There were several menu revisions (simply serving the aforementioned fried peanut butter and banana sandwich was too obvious of a jab at the King's poor nutritional choices), a lengthy discussion of the tour through the mansion and when it should be scheduled for our guests, and much debate over how the Rockabilly Cafe should be decorated for reception (alas, no toilet shaped pi�atas) but my favorite debate was over the wedding favors.

Me: I would like to give away small, framed, velvet Elvis' (Elvi?) as my favors at the wedding. I would be putting them at each seat at the tables. Would this be okay?

EP: Are they tasteful?

Me: Umm, they are Velvet Elvis' and I don't know that such a thing can be tasteful.

EP: Well, at least go for skinny Elvis then.

Okay, you be the judge - tasteful or tacky?

8:36 p.m. - 2002-07-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife