mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mass Transit and Me

Okay, yesterday was 92 degrees and today it's 65. Seattle is a strange place. Anyway, in honor of yesterday's heat wave, the president of my company sent us all home early. Somedays I love my job. But leaving early has it's drawbacks, mainly that I will have to take the bus home. Normally Pete swings by my job on his way home and picks me up in the truck but his company wasn't buying the "it's too hot to work efficiently" excuse and Pete had to stay on and work his eight hour day. So I headed out to brave mass transit.

I have this awful curse that hangs over my head. It seems that no matter where I go, people strike up conversations with me. This would all be fine (I really am a pretty friendly person and like meeting new people) if it wasn't only the complete freaks who approached me. For example, I spent all of yesterdays trip being stuck next to a toothless, longshoreman, from Alaska who had no concept of personal space.

This situation was partially my fault. Upon boarding the bus I took a seat at the front and then mistakenly made eye contact with the nuttiest looking character around. He was about six feet tall and possibly 125 pounds and as I mentioned earlier he had very few teeth. He also had very little hair and several jailhouse tattoos. I guess you could say he was real eye-catching. Before I could avert me eyes he said "Well, hello purty thing!" The correct action to take here would be to get up from my seat and move to the back of the bus after possibly giving the guy the finger but instead I gave the guy what I hoped would be a cool and detached smile, pulled out a newspaper, and focused my eyes downward on the print. Clear message, right? Apparently not.

"Whatcha readin' there," Creepy Man asks.

I show him the newspaper and glance back down trying to look engrossed in the article.

"Oh, you're readin' 'bout ice cream," he says.

I look at the paper. There is nothing about ice cream in the paper. The front page has a guy in front of a computer terminal. I have no idea what Creepy Man is talking about.

"I like ice cream," he says. "We don't get much ice cream where I am from. I live in Alaska. There are eleven men for every one woman in Alaska."

Smooth transition. I can't see where this is going.

"I am on my way back there now." Since when does the #28 bus go to Alaska, I wonder. "I'd sure like to take a purty thing like you back with me. My wife left me 'cause I took an oath of celibacy but I came home and said to her I'd still like to make love to her." He says this last statement like it's a joke and cackles loudly. Now I am disgusted and confused. The bus is full of people, all of whom are listening to this conversation but pretending not too. For godsakes, someone save me.

Somehow I make it to 4th and Bell, the location of the Alaska Credit Union office and Creepy Man has to get off here (sad I know).

"One last chance for love baby," he offers. "Come with me and I'll give you everything I got." Great I've always wanted Syphilis and Chylamydia.

I hate mass transit.

10:28 a.m. - 2002-06-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife