mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Straight Out of Ballard

Last night around 6:00 PM Pete and I were leaving our home to get dinner when we ran into a chicken. No really, there was literally a chicken running around in front of our house. Now being mostly city folk, we weren't sure what we should do. I whistled at it like I do the dog but the bird seemed disinterested. I then began running after the bird thinking if I caught it I could look at it's tags and bring it home but apparently chickens move fast and wear no ID collars. A friend later mentioned they also have a tendency to peck the hell out of if you grab them. Anyway, I wound up chasing the damn thing into a neighbors yard and then I was worried it might come back out and get hit by a car.

Luckily, our local beat cop showed up at that point and parked down the block. The cop and I have a history albeit a very unexciting one. He was the cop that showed up when my car got hit while parked in front of my house. He's also the cop that comes when I call the police on the teenagers who play crappy music really loud across the street on school nights. Yeah, I'm that lady and if you have a problem with it I'll call the cops on you too. I also had him come out once when the same girls seemed to be neglecting their dog so that he barked all damn night. The point is, I thought he'd recognize me. I am a nuisance.

Pete and I hopped in the Jeep and rode up along side his car. He rolled down his window and we began to explain about the chicken on the loose. Could he catch him? Should he call in reinforcements? Put out an APB (whatever an APB might be)?

Mr. Cop got real stern with us though and demanded to know where we lived. I told him the house number all the while thinking "why don't you remember me Mr. Friendly Neighborhood Cop?" Then he showed us a picture of a scraggly guy who was wanted for violently beating the hell out of someone. He asked if we'd seen him, he'd heard he was staying above the garage of one of the houses on our block. The guy looked pretty familiar and the house he's staying has a number of misfits that stop by regularly. He then asked us to call the precinct if we saw this guy again because there's a warrant out for his arrest. We agreed but were disappointed to learn he seemed indifferent to little, lost chicken. No APB was put out.

2:55 p.m. - 2006-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife