mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

February Arrives

I had a wonderful birthday. Pete showered me with gifts (including a spiffy new laptop, a huge gift certificate to the spa, a knee high stack of books, and on and on). We spent a night in the very lovely Hotel Vintage Plaza in downtown Portland in a starlight room where they spoiled the dog with an endless supply of rawhide bones and treats. We enjoyed a delicious sushi dinner with an old friend for my cruise ship days and she and I reminisced about our seafaring past. The following morning we headed out to an exquisite cabin in Mt. Hood. We were met by friends and enjoyed two days of skiing, drinking wine, eating delicious food and soaking in the hot tub. I really couldn�t imagine a better way to ring in my 32nd year. Upon returning to reality, I was met with my first cold in three years. I was congested, feverish, and miserable. I should have simply gone to sleep for a couple of days but alas life would not permit. I had a ridiculously important meeting to attend and a full day of classes on Saturday that I couldn�t miss. By Sunday, I was toast. I faded in and out of consciousness drifting from one stress related dream to the next. You see, I have little to no free time. My schedule doesn�t allow for illness. Sigh. Speaking of free time, I was nominated to sit on the official Board of Directors for a certain self-esteem building organization geared at pre-adolescent girls. I�m honored and excited and should I be officially inducted I�ll be hitting you all up for donations! I know you all can�t wait. In the personal self-esteem department, I�ve actually been experiencing a bit of self doubt. I can�t put my finger on why. I�ve been getting lots of accolades at work, and academically things are going smoothly. In fact, my classmates actually applauded one of my contributions on Saturday. Pete has been as supportive as ever, our relationship is strong and passionate. I�m plugging along fitness-wise, not making any great strides but not losing ground either. And yet there�s a nagging worry that on some level I�m not quite good enough, not achieving my personal best, falling a bit short of the mark. I can�t seem to sort it out.

8:27 p.m. - 2006-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife