mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You and I, We Should Do Some Conversating

I was screwing around on Orkut today when I can across this profile desciption:

"Apparently people think I am more trustworthy than cool, although lately the cool meter has been increasing. Sexiness is still below measurable levels."

I nearly pissed myself, I laughed so hard.

For those of you not totally familiar with Orkut, it's sort of like an inflated Friendster. It has the same set up as Friendster with lots of little extras. One of those extras is rating your friends on the categories of "trusty, cool and sexy." Trusty? That's not even a word. And just in case you were wondering, my ratings have me as significantly cooler then trusty with my sexiness factor falling somewhere in between. If you want an Orkut invite, drop me a line. I'll be happy to rate you.

Speaking of words that aren't, when did we as a people decided to use "conversate" as opposed to converse? It's true, this word isn't just for the rap stars anymore. I have heard more and more people using it in day to day life now than I know what to do with. For example, today I am riding the elevator with two balding white guys in khakis and button ups. "Say Mark," says white guy #1. "We really need to get together and conversate on that IT conversion to Linux." "Yes," responds white guy #2. "Let's get the Project Management team together some time this week so we can conversate as a group."

And to sum up stupid things that bother me, if one more product comes out advertising itself as "low carb" I am going to go postal. I actually saw a commercial for a low carb vitamin. No, not a suppliment for people who are eatting low carb and thus missing out on essential vitamins and minerals their bodies need to function (great diet plan). This was simply a vitamin that was low in carbs. It's a vitamin ferchrissakes!!! Swallow the sucker and shut up or I'll stuff a loaf of French bread down your throat.

Gah, at least it's Wednesday.

1:00 p.m. - 2004-05-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife