mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Film and Television

Last week sometime, RDG wrote an entry on various films and tv shows she'd seen which totally got me thinking I should do this too - except I haven't seen much television or many movies recently. Still, why let that stop me, right? So here is a rundown on stuff I have an opinion on with absolutely no factual information to back up my judgments. Enjoy.

1. 13 Going On 30

"It is 1987 and Jenna is a 13-year-old girl on the brink of womanhood. The problem is that adulthood is just not arriving fast enough. She’s suffocated by her dorky parents, ignored by the hip kids in school and the cute guy she has a crush on barely knows her name. No longer content to spend time only with her best friend and neighbor, Matt Flamhaff, Jenna invites the cool kids to her 13th birthday party. But the party is a disaster. Jenna is humiliated when she’s locked in the closet for a game of “Seven Minutes in Heaven” and everyone deserts her. Alone in the closet, Jenna makes an earnest wish. If only she could be all grown up, she’d have the life she’s always wanted. Miraculously, her wish comes true."

This sounds an awful lot like Big to me minus the star power of David Moscow. I assume making the lead a woman was supposed to trick us into thinking this is a totally new concept in entertainment but I am no fool. Same friggin movie with less talent. I was discussing this with Pete this morning during our commute to work and I was recalling the scene where Tom Hanks has his first sexual encounter with Elizabeth Perkins and how I truly doubted that they'd have such a scene for Jennifer Garner's character.

"Oh no," he said. "Of course they won't. This is like a Disney vehicle. They'll be no sex."

"Well actually," I responded. "I think it goes beyond that. I mean, I just don't think society would be ready to see a supposed 13 year old engage in a physical relationship with an adult male. And well they shouldn't as that's totally gross. And yet, Tom Hank's character was only 11 or 12 and his urges were played out in full Technicolor without any societal backlash. In fact, their relationship was well received. Our world is so gender stereotypical. A boy can get down and dirty with an older woman and it's seen as totally acceptable. It makes him more of a man if you will. But a girl is portrayed as a victim. Are they not both victims?"

"Umm, I think you've wasted too much time thinking about this."

"Yeah, me too."

2. Friends

I don't watch this show at all but I can't escape the news that we are quickly heading toward the last episode. Does someone out there actually care? This show sucks, it has always sucked, and it will suck even more now that it's over because it will be so heavily syndicated that I will not be able to turn on the television without hearing the the Rembrandts singing "I'll Be there For You." I hate that song. HATE THAT SONG. And the end of the series has apparently encouraged these guys to release a new album. Message to the Rembrandts: Give it up! No one cares.

3. Bobby Jones: Stroke of Genius

"For some athletes, the ultimate win comes through a stroke of luck, but for Robert Tyre Jones, Jr., "Bobby Jones," it was truly a stroke of genius. His natural skill and uncanny passion for the game of golf earned him the title of "The Best Golfer in the World."

Now I like golf as much as anybody but ....... wait, I'm totally lying. I hate golf. I think it's about as exciting as watching paint dry. In fact, when I discovered that our cable company had added the Golf Network for free, I called them up and asked them to take it back. How come they never give you Independent Film Channel for free? It's always a new Home Shopping Club channel. Sucks the big one, kinda like a movie about golf.

4. Eve or any sitcom on UPN

Remember when Eve was a talented rapper? When you respected her as part of the Ruff Riders crew? Well, she's decided to diversify with this comedic vehicle. Perhaps she hopes to pull a Latifah. Start out in a series and work her way up to the big screen? Well, earth to Eve, ain't going to happen. Certainly isn't going to happen as a result of this piece of crap. Even with episodes entitled "Pimps Up, Diva Style Down" and guest stars like Morris Day, it's a total miss.

As for reviewing any other sitcom on UPN, I can safely say two thumbs down. I mean have you seen Rock Me Baby? What about Half & Half? Or All Of Us? Nope, me either. I've also never heard of any of them till I visited the UPN website. I think I can safely say don't bother checking them out.

Okay, so those are my reviews of things I haven't seen. Heed my warnings because I know what I am talking about. Have a happy Cinco de Mayo! And feliz cumpleanos to RDG!

8:53 a.m. - 2004-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife