mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend Recap

In an effort to cheer myself up this last weekend, I allowed myself to indulge in whatever tickled my fancy. Yep, it was a no holds barred kind of weekend. A free-for-all frenzy if you will, whereby all my wildest fantasies were fulfilled. Okay, that's a bald faced lie but I did attempt to do a few things that I hoped would make me smile. Some worked, some didn't. Here's the list with a few lines of commentary. Enjoy.

  1. Drank entire bottle of chilled white Chardonnay. Well actually, I planned to drink the entire bottle but after two glasses I felt tired so I went to bed. I'm wacky like that. Woo hoo!
  2. Sleep in on Saturday. Woke to the smell of fresh rain. Brewed really good coffee and sipped away on my porch as noon approached and the sun peaked through the clouds.
  3. Decided to rent "funny" movies. Selected Eddie Murphy's Raw. Recalled it to be "hilarious." Last viewed this flick when I was twelve. Discover it has not has stood test of time and is simply Murphy stringing together obscenities and racial slurs for 93 minutes. Wonder what I was thinking when I rented this film.
  4. Engage in deep and meaningful discussion with Pete regarding stand up comedians of the 80's. Determine no one was funny in the 1980's as Pete recounts Andrew Dice Clay routines. "No, he actually went out on stage and said 'Little Miss Muffet sat on a tuffet eating her curds and whey along came a spider, sat down beside her, and said, hey, what's in the bowl, bitch' and *that* was a joke. People laughed. Why? I have no clue." Other not-funny comedians of the 80's include Emo Phillips, Rodney Dangerfield, and Sam Kinison. Decide comedians of the 1970's were far superior (note: Richard Pryor, Steve Martin, and Gilda Radner).
  5. Sleep some more and reawaken to more rain. Go to the Fremont Sunday Market. Institute Shopping Therapy as needed. Buy the following cool things:


I needed this album as I had bought the one below over a year ago and now only need the third to complete the series.


Not only do these albums have cool covers, they were also recorded in superb Spectra-Sonic Sound. It doesn't get better than that.


Finally, I bought this too. Why you ask? Well I am taking bellydancing lessons now and I needed something to practice too. You think I am joking? I'm not.


I've had this for a long time. It's super cool too. I just wanted to show it off. This is my page so I can do that, alright.

As far doing things to cheer myself up, I'm going to go have some Margaritas now with guacamole and chips and enjoy the last few minutes of Sunday. I thank everyone for their well wishes. It means a great deal. I will update on my grandmother as I feel up to it. In the meanwhile, it's just me and the soothing sounds of Martin Denny.

7:27 p.m. - 2003-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife