mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Negative Nellie

I've been in a somewhat negative mood as of late. For the most part, I think I do fairly well hiding these emotions. I realize that it's not fair to take out my aggression on every single person who walks by me on the street but sometimes I just can't control myself.

For example, yesterday while walking with Lauren on Fifth Avenue we had the following exchange:

Me: What is that cacophony of sound?

L: It's Jazz Lunch Wednesdays (FYI: a free outdoor lunch concert held throughout the summer in downtown).

Me: I *HATE* Jazz Lunch Wednesdays.

L: You "hate" Jazz lunch Wednesdays?

Me: Yup.

L: Why?

Me: I just do.

Okay, there is no rational reason for me to hate Jazz Lunch. It's just free music in the plaza of an office building. It doesn't create any additional traffic on the street and it's not mandatory that I go. Sure, I'm not a big fan of jazz but I'm generally a live-and-let-live kind of person. The people should have their jazz if that's what they want. What the hell do I care? Why would I feel so strongly about something that has no effect on my life in any way? Who knows?

Other things I feel hatred for that have no real reason to:

  1. People who live in the Northwest but insist on buying mass produced beer in a can when at the supermarket. I know it's none of my business what anyone else is drinking. After all, it's not as if these idiots invited me over their house to enjoy their Miller Light with them and yes it's a free country but damn man, you're in the land of microbrews and drinking swill is just soooo wrong. All corporate beer should be pulled from the supermarket shelves in Seattle to appease me.
  2. That new Jaguar commercial where they have an English guy do the voice over and he enunciates Jaguar like this - "JAG - UUU - RRRR." Hate that, Hate that Hate that. Could turn channel and not watch commercial but I never do.
  3. This guy who is a runner around Seattle. I see him everywhere in his satin running shorts. I see him running in downtown, then out by my house, then in Beacon Hill. He's all over the map. He's real skinny and has a beard and is so pale and unhealthy looking that you want to hold him down and feed him spoonful after spoonful of peanut butter under the harsh glare of tanning booth lights. Once again, this person has never done anything directly to me but whatever. I want him to disappear from my landscape.
  4. Pinecombs. I just don't like them. I especially hate when people make wreaths out of them and hang them on their front doors.
  5. The color "salmon" when used to describe articles of clothing.
  6. The band Kraftwerkz or any bands that Germanize their names for industrial credibility.

Okay, well there you go. That list could go on and on but I won't do you like that. Instead, I'll leave you with a link to this. They have a patent pending. I sure hope that doesn't effect the production of my new invention - Octoschnitzel.

12:48 p.m. - 2003-08-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife