mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We're a Happy Family

So last week my dad calls me and begins talking about a convention his company is having in Hawaii and he has free airfare and hotel for himself and a friend. My dad has wanted to go to Hawaii for some time so this all works out well. He also mentions that perhaps he'll do a stop over in Seattle and stay with us for a few days. My dad and I get along well enough and he's always a good guest when he comes to visit. He's happy with any plans you might make and willing to try new things and always thankful for anything you might do for him. In general, he's easy to be around so I look forward to his visits.

When I ask my father if my mother will be coming along, he tells me she feels it is too far to travel. After my mothers last trip to Seattle, she said the same thing. She's entitled to this opinion (although it makes it difficult for us to get together). I don't question it. It's none of my business. We used to travel a lot when I was younger. Perhaps she's done with that. Who knows?

Sometime after speaking with me, my sister and my father talk. Robyn cannot believe that my mother doesn't want to go on a free trip to Hawaii. Why she cares what my mother does is beyond me. She tells my dad that she desperately wants to go with him. My father counters that she's in school and can't. Robyn argues that it's not a busy week for her and that missing a single week of classes won't really have an effect on her GPA. My father explains he was going to take me because I had vacation time from work and nothing really to lose (this element of the story only reaches me after the a second conversation with my dad). And here is where the world's smartest kid screws us both out of a free vacation to Hawaii......

My sister feels compelled to call up my mother and tell her she's nuts for not wanting to go to Hawaii. She then tells my mother that she is going to go. My mother argues that she's in school. Robyn explains it's just a study week (my sister is in a combined Undergraduate/Masters program for some sort of Chemical Engineering at a pricey college in Philadelphia) and that no classes are held during that time. She can simply study on the beach. I need to mention that although my sister is brilliant, this academic program is really challenging her. She's passed every class she's taken so far but nolonger maintains the 4.0 average she had in high school. Still, she's doing well and working hard and I genuinely believe she'll get through her program unscarred. She and my mother bicker back and forth and my mom ends the conversation by telling Robyn that she is now in fact going to go to Hawaii despite not wanting to because she pays $30,000.00 a year for Robyn's tuition and she won't risk losing that investment. Isn't that the most noble thing you've ever heard? What a generous individual, sacrificing her happiness to go to Hawaii and save my sisters academic career.

Anyway, I'm not really sure when I got pushed out of the running as a possible travel companion. As far as financial investments, it's been at least eight years since I've asked my parents for a penny. My job will be fine without me and I have ten vacation days left this year and nothing planned till January of 2004 (when I get another three weeks vacation allotted to me). Pete can stay home with the dog since he has no vacation left. But, like I said, I'm out of the running. With just a few words, my dear sister (book smart but clearly not street savvy) has made sure that none of us will enjoy the sand and surf of Waikiki. Damn you Robyn, damn you!

I swear, no matter how far you move from your family, you still get caught up in the politics. It's truly an amazing thing that I am as well adjusted as I am.

9:48 a.m. - 2003-04-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife