mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today My Baby Sister Graduates From High School

Today My Baby Sister Graduates from High School...

...and I wish to sing her praises. My poor sister Robyn hasn't had it easy my friends. First of all she was born when I was already twelve years old and very much adjusted to being an only child (i.e. I really hated her guts with her cute little baby booties and made a pact the moment she was born to make her existence on this here earth miserable).Somewhere along the way though, I really came to love this gal and as a graduation gift to her I want to publicly apologize for the following incidents:

  1. That time when you were first learning to walk and could only walk a few steps without loosing your balance so you would venture from the couch to the coffee table but then I pulled the table away after you'd let go of the couch and already stepped away and you fell on your ass. It wasn't nearly as funny as I thought it was at the time (okay, okay I'm still laughing right now but I realize it isn't nice so the past 16 years have matured me at least a little bit).
  2. That time when you were six months old and you really wanted the lemon wedge that was in my diet coke and so I gave it to you and you immediately shoved it in your mouth without further investigation. I can still see the look on your face, all pinched up and pouty! Too funny. This incident was only overshadowed by the time at eight months when you really wanted the shiny jalapeno pepper - heh heh....
  3. That time I told you I'd cut and perm your hair real pretty like the little mermaids but you wound up looking like this guy. But you have to admit you were sort of asking for it letting a gal who had a purple mohawk cut your locks. What was the four year old you thinking anyway?
  4. That time I promised to paint your bedroom blue and gold and I started out painting half the door jams really sloppily and never finished so that your bedroom is still half done 10 years later.
  5. That time I told you there was no such thing as the Easter Bunny, Santa Claus, or the Tooth Fairy but there was in fact a big hairy monster that lived in the crawlspace that liked to eat little girls with black hair and freckles. That wasn't true in case you hadn't figured it out as of yet.
  6. That time I advised you write a show and tell report for school all about Herb Albert & Tijuana Brass. Maybe mom's Whipped Cream and other Earthly Delights album wasn't quite what your fourth grade teacher had in mind when she picked the topic of "Latin American Culture" for you to report on.

Damn, Robyn sure was lucky I left for college when I did. Who knows what other forms of ritual torture she would have had to endure under my rule. I am absolutely certain there are a million other things I should apologize to her for but mainly I just want to tell her wonderful she is and how proud I am of her (she got a partial scholarship to a prestigious college where she will pursue engineering) and how much I love her. Have a fantasticgraduation Kiddo!

1:32 p.m. - 2002-06-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife