mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

She's Got Personality!

Obviously, I've been living under a rock because I didn't hear about this untill last night when an ad came on during American Idol (oh shut up, I know you watch it too). Boy, I haven't thought about Monica in awhile. Who would have thought she'd wind up hosting a reality TV show on Fox (snicker, snicker)? I had her pegged for a gig with CNN. Maybe doing some coverage when we invade Syria?

In case you don't feel like reading the article, I'll summarize. Monica will host a show called Mr. Personality whereby "a group of average-looking men whose faces have been masked" will court a beautiful young woman. Here's the real innovative part though, one man will be eliminated each week until there is a single dullard left standing and I guess he wins the hand of the fair maiden. I'm getting kind of tired of the whole "voting someone off" deal. A while back, Ethelalcohol mentioned that she felt that reality TV was destroying any potential for other programming because it was cheap and easy to make. At the time, I disagreed but now I'm starting to see the light. I can barely make it threw an episode of Survivor anymore. Truth be told, I'm totally bored. I'm actually yearning for shows like Small Wonder. Things are getting bad.


Speaking of bad things, you may remember I went to the Frank Black and the Catholics show last Friday. Worry not, Frank was awesome. They did a bunch of Pixies stuff t thus appealing to my inner high schooler. And, Judy found us a spot by the bar where we had a clear view of the show and there were no tall guys to block my vision. But can someone please tell me what's going on with David Lovering???!!! For those unfamiliar with Pixies history, Lovering was once the drummer and then he sort of dropped out of sight. Well, he's apparently spent the last ten years perfecting his emulation of Bill Nye the Science Guy. He arrived on stage in a lab coat with a mad professor look in his eyes. He explained to the audience that he was now a Scientific Phenomenalist and performed a variety of experiments including illuminating a pickle with electrical voltage. As he completed each segment of his act he said "right on, right on." It was just strange. I wonder what Frank really thinks of David's new deal? I wonder what favor he owes him that he's allowing him to tour with the group and do this god awful act? Or if Lovering is being blackmailed (there's a pun in there somewhere)? To be honest, the whole thing just made me sad.

Did I mention that Frank was wearing the cutest western wear shirt ever? It made me want to spend all day Saturday going from thrift store to thrift store and finding shirts just like it. I have a whole outfit in my mind right now and I will find that ensemble, trust me. Oh Frank, you are an inspiration!


And finally, Itzie and I finished the garden on Saturday. Yeah us!!!! Itzie had the great idea to line the flower bed in old plates which we got at the Value Village. It looks so cool (pictures to follow). On Sunday there was a sun shower and the plates get all wet and glisteny and the colors of the plants reflected here and there. I'm looking forward to watching everything blossom and bloom this summer.

The floors are still in process but I can see a bit of light at the end of the tunnel. One day soon, I'll be able to move about my house without climbing over the furniture. One day soon, I will wear clothes that are not covered in dust. One fine day, I'll be able to have friends over for cocktails and not have to ask them to sit on my bed because everywhere else is filled with clutter. Oh, I can't wait!

8:52 a.m. - 2003-04-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife