mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Levity


St Peter's Basillica- Rome

So, a bit about the trip. I loved Rome and Florence. Each are beautiful in their own right but they were also crawling with American and Canadian tourists. After visiting Oaxaca last Fall and being in small towns (where Pete and I stood out like sore thumbs and Spanish was all you heard for miles around) it was hard to adjust to visiting places more widely traveled by our fellow countrymen. You never realize just how loud we all are till you go somewhere else and hear our voices above all others. There were so many young students having a semester abroad. I almost felt like I was in a college town at times.

While standing under the Spanish Steps, I heard the following conversation:

"Thank god they have a McDonalds here. I'm so sick of pizza."

"I totally know what you mean. I was sooo craving something Canadian."

This exchange occurred between two women in their early twenties. Now, I as a citizen of the US am not about to take credit for the crappiness that is the bulk of Fast Food Nation. If the Canadians want to claim the Big Mac as their own genius, please be my guest. You can have Bush as a leader too if you like.

I later overheard a group of middleaged, heavyset Americans who seemed to be on a Rick Steve's bus tour commenting on the lack of Starbucks. To them, it was a truly a tragedy. If you've never been to Northern Italy let me tell you that there are two things it's certainly not lacking in; good food and excellent espresso. The idea of having a double tall Frappachino with canned whipped cream and an order of Chicken McNuggets seems nothing short of a crime.

These independent cafes which seem to exist on every corner were really a highlight of the trip. I loved watching the locals come in and belly right up to the counter and, while still standing, down a shot of fragrant and steamy espresso. Then they'd just move on. No frills, no bulky paper cups with corporate logos, no huge, preservative enhanced muffins for a mid morning snack. It was simple and refreshing. And while we're talking refreshing, one word - gelato! There are as many cafes as gelato stands and if you're real lucky you can get find a joint that combines the two....heaven.

The art....oh where to begin! It's breathtaking. I've seen many of the more famous works in art history texts and been less than impressed but when it's all there in front of you, it's so different. Michelangelo's David blew my mind. It's huge! Much bigger than the pictures make it seem and it's so perfect. It made me gasp. I think I stood in front of it with my mouth hanging open for a good half hour.

Then there was this:

Can anyone identify who the artist is or what it's called? Me either so I just call it Noah Gives Creepy Jesus A Piggyback Ride. There were lots of creepy depictions of the Christ child. Northern Italy is very big on the God stuff, go figure?

And finally, I wanted to mention an odd coincidence. Whenever Pete and I travel somewhere we are followed by a certain song. That song....GUANTANAMERA! You know, the Guantanamo Bay Song? Yeah, we hear it wherever we go. We heard it performed live when we traveled through Cabo, heard it again in Hawaii, heard in Oaxaca on the Zocalo and upon arriving in Milan and coming up out of the subway station we were met with it's familiar rhythms. You see, we arrived amidst the Carnival Celebration and the main square was awash in silly string and streamers. A band performed on a central stage and they belted out our song. Yes Pete, I've decided Guantanemera must be our song. Aren't you glad I won't plead with you for us to make it "True" by Spandau Ballet anymore (I begged for this song at our wedding but we wed to Elvis' Blue Hawaii instead)? A song about Cuba in Italy - so strange.

8:12 p.m. - 2003-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife