mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend Recap

This weekend went by in a whirlwind of activity. My social calendar was filled with parties and obligations of one kind or another. I'd also promised to help Pete pull up the rest of the rugs in our household and dispose of their nastiness. I'm not sure how it happened but the once clean, beige rugs morphed a few months ago. They became covered in dark and unusual stains and acquired an odor similar to that of a men's locker room after a big game. This was an interesting development considering that: 1)only Pete and I live in the house, 2) all the parties I throw seem to be fairly tame and do not generally end in vomiting or the throwing of beverages and food, and 3) I obsessively vacuum - sometimes as often as four times a week. Nonetheless, the carpets looked like crap and something had to be done.

About a month ago we pulled up the rug in the office. What laid beneath was the original wood floor covered in a bright blue paint. After some sanding and polishing, the floor was as good as new. Encouraged by our successes, we continued on to the master bedroom. Saturday morning we removed the carpet and padding and found the wood floor in this room to be painted orange. Once the carpet was up, it was time for me to hit the road. The fabulous SBD was on her way over and the two of us were to head out to RDG and Birdgyrl's Spring Bash. When we stopped at the Safeway to grab some beers we had a most interesting encounter with a former Meth addict turned cashier. While ringing us up she turned to the poor teenage bag boy (who appeared to be of some Middle Eastern descent) and shouted quite loudly that she was "Sorry. Things are not looking good for Iraq, Rasheed." Then she spouted several Bush-isms at us and told us she had a whole lot more to share but alas, SBD and I had to be on our way.

The party was fantastic and the sun even came out in honor of the event. Itzie was there and I begged for her help with my landscaping woes. Does anyone know how to sculpt dog poop so it looks like really beautiful flora and fauna? Perhaps topiary style with giraffes and other jungle animals? We enjoyed a few Pacifico's and lime and chatted about everything and I even did a shot of some alcoholic beverage that was being bandied about the gathering. What was that stuff anyway (I was assured there were no Ruffies in it before I sucked it down)? Sadly, I had to leave a bit early and missed the burgers hot off the grill part of the party but I did return home to a cleared wood floor! It's good to have a husband dedicated to the task at hand.

Sunday morning we attempted to remove the living room rug. This is where our successful forays into home improvement end. Underneath the living room carpet lies the ugliest linoleum you have ever seen. It seems to be from the 1940's and has a pattern of wreaths and stars in brown and green. The wood floor seems to be buried somewhere beneath this atrocious covering. This means we will be tearing up linoleum that has been adhered to the floor with a toxic glue some sixty years ago. Thank god I was raised in NYC and thus already have ruined my lungs with car exhaust and pollution. The asbestos flooring will have no effect on me. After making this discovery, I again left for a party. The hostess with the mostest, Dishery, was holding an Academy Awards party to rival all others. The food was fabulous, the gowns were stunning (I mean you should have seen Lee), and the party goers were diverse and interesting. I do however wish that someone would give Renee Zellweger a candy bar! Sheesh she looks like a skeleton and I ain't buying for a minute that it was all the dancing in Chicago that has made her all skin and bones. Oh and Michael Moore's rant was welcomed. He was such a breath of fresh air.

And now here is - Monday. The week seems insurmountable. Somebody press fast forward and get me through till Friday.

3:37 p.m. - 2003-03-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife