mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More, More, More.....

Question # 4: What's your sister like? Are you close to her?

Wow, good one RDG. Maybe you've noticed I don't write much about her. It's not an easy topic to discuss. I adore my sister but she came into my life when I was in my teens and frankly, we don't know each other as well as many siblings who are closer in age do. She was only three or four when I left for college and even though I have been back through NYC since (even doing a six month stint of living at home that I tenderly refer to as "sheer hell") we've never really spent much time together.

I was somewhat underwhelmed when my mother announced to my adolescent self that she was pregnant. I had been an only child for some time by that point and enjoyed every minute of it. I knew things were going to change in a big way when Robyn came along and did they ever. We moved a few months after her birth to a newer and larger house which I never really felt at home in. My grandparents, who had been my primary caregivers, were now too old to watch an infant so my parents hired a sitter for Robyn and gave me a key to the house. It was determined that I no longer needed supervision and could come and go as I pleased. A few months later, my grandfather succumbed to cancer and the whole world crashed in for me. My grandfather had been my everything. He walked me to school every day and taught me how to ride a bike. He took me to the bar with him and let me tell knock knock jokes to his buddies in exchange for sugar candy. I can't do justice to the man with words so I think I'll stop trying but there was something I was getting at at. On the day my grandfather died, I was at a friends house. My dad called and said I needed to come home quickly. Upon arrival, I was told that my grandfather had passed away I collapsed on the hallway floor in hysterics. My sister, who was barely talking, crawled her way over to me and said "Don't cry my Mimi" and hugged me as tight as she could with her little frame. She held me for a long time and tried to wipe away my tears. Her compassion is something I can't describe and it's been there since day one, you know?

She's also terribly intelligent. She's currently enrolled at a very upscale college where she is studying to get her Undergraduate/Masters degree in Bioengineering (in only five years she'll have both degrees -she'll be 21 when she graduates). She's always been drawn to sciences and mathematics (my two least favorite subjects). Robyn is attractive as well. She has this fantastic black hair and beautiful, deep blue eyes and a body to die for (although given the option, I'd keep my petite frame and lighter features). She has always been a straight A student and she never went through a rebellious period making her all-around my parents favorite child. I know how this sounds. It sounds as if I have some issues and hell, I do. But they're not with her so much as with my parents. My parents raised us very differently. Time does that I suppose. It slowed my parent down and made them a bit more relaxed and flexible. But my parents are another entry entirely......

Question # 5: Granny Underoos- God no, sometimes, or 24/7?

Well my dear Seamonsta (who I'd marry in a minute if I wasn't already married) the answer is "God no!" I am weird about underwear and only like frilly, sexy stuff even though most of the time no one sees it. My bras have to match my panties or else I feel off all day too. I read an article once about how feeling sexy makes you more confident and there was a tie in about skivvies but I can't remember how now. Anyway, I bought into it and so it's thongs and satin demicups all the way for me. In a weird twist on all of this I own a few pairs of small, men's boxer-brief hybrids that I love but I wear those only around my house or to bed.

- 2003-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife