mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Hard One to Answer

Question 3: What's your greatest regret?

Boy, that one's tough Myra-Lee. Unlike many people I know, I actually admit to having regrets. That's not to say I am unhappy with the way things have turned out but hell, there are certainly things I'd do differently given a second shot.

First off, when I was a sophomore in college I got an interview for an internship at a magazine which could best be compared to Sassy. To apply, you had to provide a writing sample. The interviewer told me she really liked my sample and was very encouraging. The job itself would have been just doing a bunch of dull office drudgery - faxing, making coffee, filing, etc. I could have handled it and maybe it would have been a good way to meet some very influential people. The problem was it was an unpaid internship and I felt somehow as if that would just be below me. Instead, I took a job working at an erotic bakery/sex toy shop as a cashier because apparently that was more befitting to someone of my social stature (I gots to gets paid, yo). Now, I have no proof that taking that internship would change how things are now, change what I do for a living, or make it easier for me to get published. I do however have a feeling that it was defining moment I let pass me by because I felt that financial recognition was as important as job satisfaction. I will say in my defense that I was eighteen, living on my own, with no help from my parents and that I was afraid of going hungry. I will also say that I have learned from that experience and that I now value job satisfaction and recognition of a job well done over financial compensation.

Secondly, I regret the way I handled various friendships in my life. I expect a lot of people and when they don't deliver I cut them off often without a decent explanation as to why. I actually would go as far as to say that I set standards for people around me. A friend once announced to me that she was marrying her high school sweetheart. She wanted me to be her Maid of Honor at the wedding. For reasons to lengthy to explain in detail here, I refused. I told her that I felt the marriage was not going to work out and that I didn't really want to be a part of it. Now, as far as I know, she has been happily married for five years and I missed out on experiencing her happiness and having her in my life.

Lastly, I sincerely regret ever picking up a cigarette. Even though I only occasionally indulge now, I think about smoking constantly. Right now ....I'm thinking about it.

I'm sure I have more regrets too but those are the big ones.

- 2003-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife