mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Questions 6 through 13

Question # 6: Disneyland or Disney World?

I have been (un)fortunate enough to visit both Mel. And the answer is I'd prefer to not visit either of these places ever again. If I have to go to any Disney theme park again in my life I want to go to Disney Paris for the simple fact that Orlando is a pit and I'm not really an LA type of person. Plus who can resist Goofy in a beret, right?

Question # 7: What is the best {most meaningful, perhaps} present you've ever been given? The best you have ever given someone else?

Well The29th, I have been lucky enough to receive many thoughtful gifts over the years. This Christmas, I receive several albums by the great Jewish Comedian Allen Sherman from Pete. These were fantastic as they bring back really wonderful memories of my childhood. You see, Allen Sherman is from well before my time. He was one of the popular standups in the Catskill Mountains back in the 50's when the place still catered to the upper class (think Dirty Dancing). As a kid, I'd ask to listen to My Son the Folksinger, a record my parents had inherited from their parents but never played, and I'd sing along and laugh even though much of what Sherman sang went right over my head. Lyrics like "Sarah Kaufman, Sarah Kaufman, How's by you..." (sung to the tune of Frere Jacques) cracked me up even if I didn't know why. For many years my parents had a bungalow in the Catskills and I imagined that one day Allen would drop by and we'd kibitz and he'd pass down the secrets of making great Jewish comedy to me. So the records make me smile every time I hear them. There's also something so East Coast about those albums, they feel like home.

I have to say, I am a very thoughtful gift-giver and I try to give experiences rather than stuff because memories last longer. I surprised Pete with a trip to Mexico for his 30th birthday and a fishing excursion. Pete loves to fish. Whenever a friend mentions something they like, I file it away in the back of my head for an upcoming event or whatever. I try very hard to be thoughtful.

Question # 8: What is the most beautiful thing you've ever seen?

One evening back when I worked on the cruise ship, I was out having a cigarette out on the fantail. I was all alone and the sun was dropping low in the sky and there were all these hues of pink and orange. In the distance there was the icy outline of a glacier. As I sat there looking out at the water, a whale breached not fifteen feet from me. That was pretty beautiful.

Question # 9: What is your favorite song?

That's really hard. I love so many different songs for so many different reasons. Right now, I have an obsession with Neko Case's version of "Nighttime in Bowling Green." I feel as if I could listen to it over and over again.

Question # 10: What one thing would you change about yourself?

If I could change anything about myself, it would be my need to control situations. I'd like to be a person who was able to go with the flow and not over-plan.

Question # 11: What skill do you most wish you had?

I wish I could freeze people in place by simply staring at them.

Question # 12: What is the one food you could never do without?

Sushi - specifically Toro.

Question # 13: What famous person {living or dead} would you most like to meet/have met?

ELVIS!!!

- 2003-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife