mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Are You There OSHA? It's Me, Margaret

For the last, oh I don't know, lets say six months, I have been complaining that my office is cold. I'd turn to my coworker and say "Hey, is it freezing in here or am I crazy?" Her reply "You're crazy." Of course, my coworker had been running a small electric heater at her desk which projects warmth directly onto her body. She suggested I get one but I was resistant to spend my money on anything that I needed just for my job. I mean, I wasn't cold in my house. It just didn't seem right. Instead, I brought in the worlds largest sweatshirt and huddled inside it. I looked ridiculous but I felt better. I figured I'd just wait for summer and then things would improve.

Then on Monday a maintenance guy showed up just like my own Prince Charming. "I've been wondering if you've been cold," he asked. "Yes, yes," I cried. "I'm freezing! Am I crazy?"

"By no means are you crazy. In fact, this here vent above you has been blowing cold air directly on your head. I'm going to fix it and make you the happiest girl in the world." Can you believe the temperature inside my office was actually colder than that outside? Okay, so it doesn't get that cold in Seattle but still, inside should be at least a bit warmer.

And so here I sit, warm as toast, on Wednesday morning, my fingers no longer like icicles and the hair on my arms no longer standing at attention. At last, I can take home my oversized sweatshirt and relegate it to Sunday morning attire (it's perfect for running and getting coffee and the paper). I am certain my productivity will now improve.

7:58 a.m. - 2003-02-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife