mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Still Alive

Being nice really takes a lot out of you and frankly, I've been nicer than nice. If there was a Nobel peace prize for being nice, I'd be taking it home. I don't really know where to begin. Pete looks as if his eyes might explode out of his head at any moment. My time's limited so here are a few highlights of "the visit" thus far.

"I have to get up to pee a lot in the night," says father-in-law or Fil for short.

"Okay," I respond.

"Is that going to disturb you," he asks.

"No, I don't think so (thinks to herself why would you peeing bother me, unless I have to shake it off for you)."

"You sure," he says. "Cause you could just give me a jar and I'll piss in that than I won't have to leave the bedroom."

"Umm, no that's okay. But thanks for asking."

Fils's favorite saying is "You know what would make this better?" The answer is usually something that I think sucks. For example, you know what would make my house better? A whole lot of crap I can't afford and have no desire for. Fil dragged us to the Home Despot on Day Two and forced us to replace our porchlight, buy materials to build a dog run, and get some sort of a implement to "fix" my toilet (which, by the way, wasn't broken in the first place but runs like a river since being repaired).

Fil also likes to come in the kitchen when I am cooking and supervise. On Day Three I was preparing a large piece of salmon with butter lemon and dill.

"Is that salmon," asks Fil.

"Why yes," I respond.

"Me, I don't like salmon so much," he says. "My wife likes it though so she should be happy."

"Well," I answer. "So long as I can make just one person happy, I feel I've fulfilled my destiny."

All in all, things aren't as bad as they sound. I'll survive. I'm not so sure about Pete. The other day Fil told him they thought they should start looking nearby for a house to purchase. You see he likes it here despite referring to Seattle as L.A. North. He's never been to L.A. so this is an interesting comparison. Pete told them if they were planning to do that he knew of one that would be on the market in a New York minute. It's okay though, I don't think they'd ever come West. You can't get Rush Limbaugh on the radio and Fil can't live without his Rush Limbaugh.

Send me some good vibes okay and if anyone has a time travel machine can you move me forward to Tuesday?

5:29 p.m. - 2002-11-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife