mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fan Mail

Today I was lucky enough to make a new friend. His name is Brian Foster and he found me while doing a Google search for "Jenny from the Block" video. Here's what dear Bri had to say to me.

From: "Brian Foster"
To: [email protected]
Subject: J-Lo
Date: Tue, 12 Nov 2002 18:51:43 -0600

I read your commentary on "Jenny from the block". And normally people who spend the time doing what you do with your website are fairly intelligent. But what happened with you? I'm not a big J-Lo fan, but your asinine comments couldn't go uncontested.

You say the video contradicts the lyrics of the song. What are you talking about? Here's what she's saying. She's not ashamed of being rich. She's not ashamed of having nice things and living large. Why should she be? But just because she has nice things, that doesn't mean that the person she is has changed. Fools like yourself are the very people she's singing to. It's very similar to Nelly Furtado's "Sh*t on the Radio", where people who use to like her music now hate her, just because she got big.

You may not have been thinking about her money, but other people are. That's the nature of people. For every person who makes it big, there are going to be people who talk bad about them because they are jealous of their success and status. They'll try to say the successful person is a sellout. Well, Jenny is refuting that, and saying that she didn't sell out. She saying she still the same person, she's just made it big. But don't expect her to hide it because you won't think she's cool anymore.

God, I can't believe that song went over your head. That's pretty pathetic. Because it is just a pop song, but it's still more sophisticated than you.
--
Brian Foster

From: [email protected]
To: "Brian Foster"
Subject: Too Much Time On Your Hands
Date: Tue, 12 Nov 2002 21:51:43 -0600

Hello Brian, it is truly a pleasure to meet your acquaintance. So rarely do I receive e-mail from longtime fans such as yourself. I felt compelled to respond personally. So it seems as if you have a few questions for me and since I like to keep my public informed I thought I'd answer them right here on my webpage for all the world to see.

You mention that normally people who spend the time "doing what I do with my website" are fairly intelligent but what happened to me? Well, for one thing I listened to a ridiculous amounts of pop music while I was coming up in the 'hood (just like Jenny only in Brooklyn - can you say "street cred") which I believe probably detracted from my overall intellect. You'll have to forgive me if I sometimes miss the finer nuances of such musical genius as that of J-Lo. The primary education system in NYC has clearly failed me.

Now, I understand that you are not a "big J-Lo fan." I find this incredibly interesting considering you found my journal while doing a Google search for the "Jenny from the Block" video (I have a stats tracker guy so don't fuck with me). Do non-fans of J-Lo do searches for her video? I don't think so, and besides, to quote EthelAlcohol's acute observation in my guestbook,"Brian, for someone who's not a J-Lo fan you certainly invested a lot of energy and anger into your rather lengthy and acid comments as well as your in depth analysis of the song." I'm calling you out. You're a J-Lo fan plain and simple and don't even try to deny it. As a matter of fact Mr. Brian Foster, I don't even believe that's your real name. I have a sneaking suspicion that "Brian Foster" is just one of the names that you, BEN AFFLECK, use when you're trolling the Internet to see what the tabloids are writing about your dear paramour and her ass! That's right, I know it's you Ben so let's just drop all the pretenses okay?

Okay, Ben now that things are on the up and up, I would like to thank you for stepping in and clearing up a misconception or two for me. I guess I wasn't getting everything J-Lo was saying. For example, I didn't understand that she was stating that "she's not ashamed of being rich. She's not ashamed of having nice things and living large." Wow, good for her! So many wealthy people I know are completely self-conscious when it comes to the fortunes they've amassed. Yep, they turn simply scarlet every time they get into their Bentley and drive to their mansions in Beverly Hills. Yessiree, it sure is good to see a musician taking pride in all the money they have. I wish more hip-hop artists would get over the embarrassment the feel everytime they pop open a bottle of Cristal on Cribs while showing off their gold plated ceilings. These guys all need to take a lesson from Jenny and show it off! "Live large" as you crazy kids are all saying these days!

You also mention that "fools like yourself are the very people she's singing to." Gee, I've always wanted someone to write a song for me. It was sweet of Jenny to finally make all my dreams come true. You'll thank her for me won't you, Benny Boy? Perhaps, Pete and I can have you guys over for dinner sometime to show my appreciation? I make a killer Arroz con Pollo just like they do it back in the 'hood and I think J-Lo would like that. I'll even spring for 40's of St. Ides all around. What do you say? And since you guys get together with Nelly Retardo so often and I wouldn't want her to feel left out, extend the invitation to her as well, will you? I know Nelly's having a hard time meeting people, so I'll invite my cousin Hector. He just another guy from the block, ya know? He recently got out of the joint and he's totally available. I think they'd make such a cute couple.

Now, you revealed that "for every person who makes it big, there are going to be people who talk bad about them because they are jealous of their success and status" Seriously? You mean people begrudge other people their successes? I had no idea that human beings were capable of such despicable behavior.Thanks again Ben for setting me straight on this and hipping me to the ways of human nature. You are truly a special man. I hope there are no hard feelings. I feel much more sophisticated knowing what I now know.

All My Love,
Mrs-Roboto

P.S. I hope you don't mind me listing your e-mail address here. I just know that some of my readers might have questions for a big movie star like yourself and I wanted them to be able to ask them themselves. Can't wait to see you in Dare Devil!

8:52 p.m. - 2002-11-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife