mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This Is What Happens When You Spend the Whole Weekend Napping, Watching TV, and Ordering Takeout

I have the office to myself today as it's a holiday and we're officially closed. I'm a bit behind on my assignments though and so I'm here. I'll take a holiday in March when things slow down. I have brewed myself a pot of coffee and I'm listening to music loudly while filing documents and updating databases. The internet radio station I'm rocking out to is very fond of the Smiths, as am I. It reminds me of many a night sitting up late in my room in the attic of my parents house, smoking ridiculous amounts of cigarettes, and chatting with girlfriends about stuff so inconsequential I can't recall a word of it now. Well, enough waxing nostalgic for one morning ......... and now a rant.

Has anyone else seen or heard the new J-Lo song/video, "Jenny from the Block"? I swear this epic of self-promoting crap should be burned and banned and then burned again. I wasn't a big J-Lo fan prior to this release. Actually, I felt totally indifferent to her. But for christsakes, what was she thinking with this song?

It would be fair to say that I hate any song that emphasizes the artist performing it within the lyrics (exception to the rule: Cool it Now by New Edition just because and LL Cool J because he can do no wrong). It annoys me when artists repeat their name or the name of their band over and over again rhythmically (as in anything Eminem ever rapped). It's as if they can't rely on the strength of their work to stand out for itself. They have to state and restate the obvious, but I guess that's pop music in general. Why not just write a song that says "buy our album and our merchandise now?" Oh wait, plenty of bands actually do that, don't they? I mean that's what every band and artist out of Orlando, Fl. is all about right?

But seriously "Jenny from the Block" incorporates some of the stupidest lyrics I've ever heard. No, really check these out:

Don't be fooled by the rocks that I got
I'm still, I'm still Jenny from the block
Used to have a little now I have a lot
No matter where I go I know where I came from
(From the Bronx)

Ummh, you know what Jenny? I wasn't even thinking about the "rocks that you got" till you mentioned them. As far as I know, noone thinks about what kinds of jewels you're wearing. FYI - their focus is mainly your ass. Maybe you can write an entire song about that, k?

Now the video is a ridiculous video montage of herself and rehabbed fiancé, Ben Affleck being stalked by the paparazzi. A worse idea has never been conceived. Let's face it, we all know this marriage is not long for this world (wasn't she just married to one of her dancers a month ago) and soon enough this celluloid will be featured on VH1's "Rock and Roll's Greatest Breakups" right after Boy George and that other guy in Culture Club who denies being gay and that weird love triangle in the Mamas and the Papas. Ben does pay homage to J-Lo's ass in the video by rubbing it down with lotion during an afternoon cruise in the Caribbean. He knows where the moneys coming from. The most annoying thing about this video though, is that the message being portrayed on film is completely contrary to the damn song. We get clips of Jenny hanging around her mansion, sailing on a yacht, relaxing poolside, and doing a bunch of crap that your average "joe" will never have the opportunity to do because their job at KFC pays $6.25 an hour. But fear not, she's still "Jenny from the Block." She's like you and me! I think a better way to convey this message would be to see J-Lo doing laundry or running a vacuum over the living room carpet. I'd like to watch her fix a meatloaf for dinner or scrub the toilet while Ben sits on his ass drinking Icehouse and watching Monday Night Football. Then maybe, just maybe, I'd buy into this "I'm the same down-to-earth girl gal from the 'hood" bologna she's spouting off about.

I tell you, kids today and their rock n' roll (emphatically waves cane in the air and adjusts volume on hearing aid)! It's just noise. There's no meaning to this stuff, like the good old days of Dinah Shore and Dean Martin. Excuse me now, it's time for my prunes and a sponge bath.

10:02 a.m. - 2002-11-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife