mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wrestling With My Inner Demons

I was basically raised as an only child. I have one sister who was born when I was already a teenager. We never had to live in the same bedroom. She had no interest in my clothes nor did I have any interest in her toys (except for the time I took her Teddy Ruxpin to the park and made it play JFA tapes for all the other skate punks). My parents made sure there were at least two of everything in their home so that there would be no fights over who was watching the TV, using the phone, toasting bread, etc. As you can imagine, it was a charmed life and one in which I never had to learn the art of sharing.

Later I moved away to college and got my first roommate, a girl from the country who had many siblings. Within ten minutes of our first meeting this roommate began looking through my CD's and trying on my clothes. It took every ounce of self-control for me not to rip her eyes out. There have been many roommates, partners, and friends since who have overstepped my vast personal boundaries. My initial reaction to this type of trespassing is to let it go and try to rationalize with myself but eventually it builds up within me and I let loose on the visitor who has used my shampoo without asking or the coworker who borrows a pen and then leaves it on my desk instead of putting it back in the pen cup that is sitting on my desk for the express purpose of holding my pens(a place for everything and everything in it's place goddamnit!). I remember going out to coffee with my friend Jessie a few weeks after Pete and I were first living together and telling her that I didn't think that this relationship was going to work out.

"What makes you say that," she asked.

"Well, last night we went out to dinner and I had finished with my meal and he felt free to reach over and stick a fork in what I'd left behind and then he ate it!"

"Were you planning to eat it?"

"Well, no but...."

"What's the problem then?"

Anyway, I'm neurotic. So where was I going with this? Oh yeah, Pete has siblings and they are all close in age and they all are used to this sharing concept. And I've adjusted to it more and more and I get better everyday. Pete can eat anything that's on my plate now and I don't even flinch but we had another struggle pretty soon after the "Battle of the Not-Quite-Empty Plate." I'll call this one the "Staking of the TV." We have just one television and for the first six months of our life here in Seattle we lived in a small one bedroom apartment thus if one person was watching TV, the other watched by default. One of the programs Pete favored was the WWF Smackdown or whatever it was called at the time.

For the life of me I couldn't figure out why Pete enjoyed this crap. I would silently sulk while he sat glued to the set laughing out loud and occasionally pointing out some nuance or giving me additional historical information I might need to truly understand why the Undertaker hated the Boy Genius so much (he was jealous of how intelligent he was, of course). Every once in awhile I would spout out some rehearsed speech about the effect of this kind of programming on the mind. Pete would argue back that my obsession with the Real World probably wasn't helping me spawn new brain cells either. Eventually, I learned to live with televised wrestling and even accepted it as one Pete's adorable quirks. So in honor of overcoming yet another aspect of my control-freak personality, I am taking Pete to this tonight:

Boy that was along way to go to let you know about my weekend plans but Mexican masked wrestling is just too damn cool to let go by without a mention.

1:50 p.m. - 2002-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife