mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Pet Psychic

Having grown up in Brooklyn, I spent many a summer day out at Coney Island. For those of you unfamiliar with the area, Coney is a bit of a ghetto but there was a beach, an amusement park, sideshows, and my all-time favorite, the gypsies.

My girlfriend Sandra and I would take the subway four stops with nothing but $.75 in our pockets and lofty expectations. We couldn't wait to sit before the gypsy and have her stare into that crystal ball which would reveal our futures.

Our gypsy of choice was a heavyset woman in her mid-thirties (although she looked 60), with a hearty mustache that could rival Tom Selleck's in his Magnum P.I. days. She wore layer upon layer of shiny crinoline skirts and adorned her head in sheer scarves. She had a thick Eastern European accent which regularly predicted fame, great riches, and handsome husbands for both Sandra and myself. For a long time, I believed every word she said and couldn't wait a week to hear her say it again but then I entered adolescence, started listening to the Dead Kennedys, and gave up fairy tales all together.

Somewhere in the late 80's/early 90's there was a gypsy revival of sorts. I'm not really sure what happened but gypsies were morphed into something New Agey and acceptable. They changed their titles to mediums or psychics or whatever and all sorts of people sought them out in droves. The props of yesterday (crystal balls and unsightly facial moles) were replaced by incense, scented oils, and soft lighting. The psychics themselves took on a soft, hippy sort of look and offered spiritual guidance. Basically, everything began to suck!

Throughout the last decade, psychics have been regular guests on talk shows, helped solve crimes which had puzzled enforcement officials for years, and allowed people talk to loved ones who passed. I never found my self the least bit interested in these individuals. They lacked the color and pizzazz of my childhood gypsy and I found myself flipping channels whenever one was on my TV screen but Tuesday night I finally found someone to fill the void of my Coney Island gypsy. It's Sonya Fitzpatrick, the Pet Psychic!

That's right, this woman can read your pet's mind! Tuesday night I watched her speak to a dog that didn't like to be pet. He would shy away when a hand was extended in his direction. The dog told Sonya that he had been in a home before the one he now lives in and that they had gotten rid of him. Granted the new family had already told Sonya that they got this dog at a shelter but I'm sure the dog felt it was important to reiterate this fact. The dog also asked Sonya to tell his new family not to approach him but that he would approach them when he was ready to be pet. Wow, problem solved. Score one for the Pet Psychic!

Sonya was also able to communicate with a bird who had this message for his owner: "Tell my owner I like to sing and I would like a mirror in my cage," and she was able to speak to a cat from the great beyond who wanted to let her former owner know that she missed sleeping in the bed with her but that she was doing fine in Kitty heaven. Boy, my eyes were moist by the end of that psychic reading. I sure wish I could get Sonya to communicate with my dog although I'm pretty certain he's thinking "Gee, my new doghouse sucks."

So in closing today, I want to encourage everyone to watch the Pet Psychic on Tuesdays on Animal Planet. She has restored my belief in the existence of a sixth sense and I also want to promise not to talk about animals in my next entry.

11:01 a.m. - 2002-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife