mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Starfucks and Fitness

Every morning on my way into the office, I stop at a certain coffee giant and purchase my breakfast; a tall, fat free latte and a citrus fruit cup. In order for my day to proceed, I must have these items. If I do not have these items, I spend the first four hours of my day completely forlorn. I only come around when it is time to get my lunch (a large salad with sliced avocado, tomato, salmon, and grilled portabello, dressed with evol and balsamic vinegar - I am such a creature of habit).

All last week, the coffee giant lacked fruit salad. The first day, I was able to let things slide. I had carried a banana which I used as a substitute. Day two, I was a little miffed but decided to hit another coffee giant to satisfy my needs. This being Seattle, you can't spit without hitting a coffee shop. Day three, I felt the situation was beginning to get a bit out of control but I bit my tongue and got my vitamin C fix elsewhere yet again. On Thursday I was left with no choice but to confront the cashier.

"Why are there no fruit cups? There haven't been any all week!"

The young man looked at me and said with a completely straight face and said "because of the draught."

"The draught? What are you talking about?"

"Well you know there hasn't been any rain in Seattle in months," he explained. "The fruit trees are all dying. They aren't producing fruit."

"Guy," I responded, "My fruit cup has pineapple, grapefruit, orange, and a few grapes. With the exception of the grapes, you can't grow any of that here. The lack of rain has nothing at all to do with it."

"Oh," he said. "Well maybe they just don't have any at the distribution center then."

Yeah, maybe.

This morning for the first time, the coffee giant had my fruit in stock and barista boy was there. I picked up my fruit cup and approached his register.

"Hallelujah," I exclaimed. "The draught has ended and the fields are fruitful again!"

He just sneered at me but I had a good laugh.


In other news, I am going through a really productive fitness cycle. I had a hard time this December. I had to force myself out the door every morning and even once I was at the gym, I had a difficult time getting into the swing of things but I pushed on through and kept going.

In late, January I reintroduced swimming and I also added another pilates class. By February, the weather had gotten nice enough that I was able to pick up my biking and get in the occasional outdoor run. And March, well March has been unbelievable. We did our first hike last week and we have plans to hike at Mt. Hood this weekend. My workout schedule includes a little bit of everything which seems to be the key for me. Neither my mind nor my body is bored and that's a good thing.

I also felt inspired by the summer triathlon and bike tour schedule. In fact, I am now considering adding the Tri Island Trek and the Reebok Women's Triathlon to my schedule. I am 99% on both of them. I am just waiting on Pete to agree to another bike ride. I do think this one will be a blast (I just hate raising funds for causes).

Also, my college friend Lisa has agreed to come out from Boston and do Danskin with me (and Arajane and Judy are doing it too). We will be having one big celebratory dinner after that's all over! I'm really excited and happy about the way things are panning out. It's going to be an amazing summer.

12:50 p.m. - 2005-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife