mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Season of Contentment

Autumn is in the air and I think it's going to be all right. I'm looking forward to making curried butternut squash soup and hunting for mushrooms on long hikes through the moss covered forest. I am also happily anticipating roaring fires in the wood stove and drinking rich red wines while curled up with a good book on the couch.

The thing about the summers here in the Pacific Northwest is that they are dazzling and spectacular - almost too much so. I mean you feel terribly guilty if you let a day of sunshine and mountains pass without engaging in some form of outdoor activity. The Fall gives you a few moments of down time to reconnect with your inner couch potato. It also signals the time for a return to interior home improvements.

Sunday was spent smashing out the dining room walls to prepare for new dry wall and wainscoting. I normally take great joy in heaving a mallet through plaster. I feel like a rock star on the war path destroying every thing that gets in my way but Sunday I was not quite 100%. You see, the pounding of plaster was in direct competition with the pounding happening inside my skull. RDG and Monkey and I spent the previous evening guzzling several bottle of wine and laughing till the wee hours ( which in Seattle translates to 1:30 AM). I'm lucky to have such wonderful girlfriends (and that means all of you). It really makes life a heck of a lot of fun and it's nice to know that I can count on you all to be supportive and understand and nonjudgmental or just to lend an ear when I need you to. Okay, tears in my eyes ...... feeling corny ...... must change subject.

So I'm thinking Robin's Egg Blue for the walls in the dining room, pearl white for the wainscoting and trim, and a tin ceiling to top it all off. What do you think? The original wood floor will be refinished after we rip up the two layers of vinyl and wood laminate. It's amazing the half assed jobs the various owners have done to this house over time. I feel like an anthropologist every time we begin a new project ("do you think that floor was laid in the 40's or 50's"). It will be a long and arduous process but it will only increase our pride of ownership. Perhaps we'll be ready for a dinner party some time next Spring. I'll send you all an evite when we nail down a date.


And now for the stupidest sport know to man .......

Ski Dancing!

Make sure to check out the photo gallery.

(Site courtesy of Pete)

12:57 p.m. - 2004-09-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife