mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Three Unrelated Things

I have to admit it, shameful as it is. I can no longer parallel park a car.

Way back in my New York driving days I could wedge a yellow school bus into a 6' space in no more than three wheel turns. Seriously, I was the queen of the parallel park. Aced it on the driving test. In fact, my parallel parking was so impressive that the guy giving the test asked for my number but that's another story.

Somewhere in the last six or so years I've lost all my skills. I noticed them slipping. It would take me oh three or four tries to get the 8' truck into an 10' spot. I'd back up too sharply leaving no room to turn in without hitting the curb. Or I'd cut the front too close and have to pull out and start over again. But I'd give another shot and I'd get it.

One day I starting passing certain spots by because I thought it would be "tight." Tight?!!! I used to look at the smaller spots and see them as a challenge. Could I squeeze my behemoth vehicle into that sardine can of a space? Can I get a hell yah?! But all of a sudden I didn't want to so much as give it a try - even if it meant having to park six blocks further away and walk in the rain. That's when I should have gotten help for the problem.

Then I started to eye parking lots. Suddenly, $3.00 for an hour seemed acceptable if I could pull straight in. I started to avoid neighborhoods where parking was difficult and requested rides when going to a densely populated area that did not have back-in parking.

Now I believe I have things have reached a critical point. This morning after the gym I returned home and pulled my car into a large spot in front of my house (there is always plenty of pull-in parking on my street). I got out of the car and went inside to shower and prepare for work. When I returned a half hour late I noticed I was two feet from the curb! Two feet. A blind person could do better than that. My neighbor, who was outside warming up his car, just stared at me as if I had parked while intoxicated.

I really need to get a handle on this situation or give up driving.


On Sunday I had on the good old MTV playing in the background as I scrambled to get all my chores done. They are revving up for the latest installment of the Real World. This basically means showing outtakes of various screaming fights between the new roommates.

Pete walked into the room and shook his head.

"Can you ever imagine having so much drama with your housemates," he asked.

"Don't you remember one of my roommates went to jail for manslaughter," I reminded him. Same guy tried to run over his ex girlfriend with a car in front of our house when she refused to remain in a relationship with him. Yeah, I know some drama.


Okay they're predicting snow in Seattle. I can count on one hand how many times it has snowed in the six years I've lived here. Snow is a big part of the reason I don't live in the Northeast (not quite as big as the in-laws but a close second). I think this might be Armageddon. Is that Gabrielle's horn I hear in the distance?

We spent the work day battoning down the hatches because no one expects to be able to slog through six inches of snow to get to the office tomorrow. And Seattle does only have two snowplows so forget about clearing the streets. I don't even own a shovel (or a heavy coat). Pete went to the store to grab some beer and wine and it's pure bedlam. Got to stock up on canned goods in case we're all homebound for the next month I guess.

Luckily it's supposed to turn to rain and then get up in the 40's by afternoon and return to the nice safe rainy 50's I love so much by midweek. Go on with your big bad self Pacific Northwest!

7:13 p.m. - 2004-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife