mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So This Is The New Year.......

Happy New Year everyone! The Heaven and Hell Ball was actually a much bigger success then I had expected. I usually don't go in for loft party/music jam/ experimental art combos. I like to keep my pretentious events separate from another I suppose, stretch out the exposure to hipsters. But actually the Ball was far from pretentious. The art installations were well conceived and designed. I was particularly enamored by the theater that was playing The Omen and Oh God, You Devil side by side. Oh and by the old fashioned photo booth! I could have spent all night just taking snapshots. I love those damn things.

A certain syndicated sex columnist was in attendance and every time we passed him I tapped Pete and said "Look it's __________!" It was almost as exciting as the two times we've seen Bill Nye the Science Guy (once at the Glass Museum and once just strolling our hood). Okay, shut up. I live in Seattle. Our celebrities are far and few between. Be happy I am not boring you with tales of Stan Boreson again.

Speaking of local celebrities, I was pretty up close and personal with the Long Winters. I got a spot right in front of the stage and very much enjoyed their set. Jon Auer of the Posies asked his girlfriend to marry him on stage right before they played "Cinnamon." That was kind of romantic I suppose, especially when you consider that event was followed by a fantastic cover of Van Halen's "Running With The Devil." Somewhere midway through "Stupid" the tallest girl in North America saddled up next to me. Seriously, she must have been about 7' tall and all of 95 pounds. I've never seen a girl that uncomfortable in her deathly white skin. She rocked back and forth in a manner akin to a mental patient on a school bus, occasionally glancing around her to see if anyone was watching her. Two shorter women who were originally stage side before this giantess showed up tapped her on the shoulder and asked if she planned to stand there all night. I don't think tall girl even responded. She was able to hold her place for roughly fifteen minutes before heading off. I am certain she had never heard the Long Winters before and was just stumbling around aimlessly trying to support the weight of her own head on her pencil neck. She need a dozen or so cookies and a glass of punch to sustain her. On the other end of the spectrum was Earmuff Gal (she was wearing colorful earmuffs thus my creative nickname) who was also front and center. She knew every word to every song and danced as if she were a stripper without a pole, all the while staring meaningfully into the keyboardists eyes. The cute thing about her was she was simply having the time of her life and since I love to people watch she kept me completely entertained.

Speaking of people watching, you should check out a hip hop show here in Seattle. We caught the Lifesavas to bring in the New Year and damned if you didn't see some serious white boy dancing happening there. My favorite was a man in a herringbone jacket and ascot who did something I have named the handkerchief dance. He actually flung a hanky from side to side and danced after it as if he was Gene Kelly chasing an unmbrella. It wasn't really in tune to the beat but it was a lot better than those frat types who think they have rhythm (of which thankfully there were very few).

So in the end, we had a fantastic time. We listened to great music. We kissed at midnight and we hung around till my feet were bloody stumps and I could no longer stand it (sadly missing much of the Decemberists). Yes, I suffered for fashions sake but that's what New Years is all about, isn't it?

I hope you all had as wonderful a New Years as I did and may 2004 be your year!

10:04 a.m. - 2004-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife