mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More Venting

So I mentioned earlier a second e-mail from the in-laws and well I guess I need to do a bit more venting.

In my last e-mail back to our uninvited guests I asked a few questions that I felt certain would nudge the clan in the direction of hotel rental. I mentioned fragile and sharp objects that are scattered about my house. I mentioned my love of sleeping late and need for absolute silence. I mentioned my vicious dog and my knife juggling act which I practice all day long, spears flying left and right. I then politely asked if I should do some child proofing. Yes, this was my passive aggressive way of defining in no uncertain terms that I do not wish to care for a small child in my home.

The response - "He can reach up to three feet off the floor, and he knows how to climb and move furniture... therefore, I think that you guys will need to decide how much is worth moving, perhaps to a particular room in which Satan* will never be allowed to venture. Other than that, we all can balance watching him and making sure he doesn't get to things; we ought to play it by ear (childproofing is part learning the environment, part training him, and part preparing the environment, in my opinion). Don't worry about being ignorant, we all start out ignorant of child safety! :) You'll learn a lot very quickly when we're there, and trust me, most of it will remain with you."

I cannot wait to learn all about child safety on the 4th of July. Sure, all my friends will be out camping and drinking and celebrating but I'll be learning child safety. That's a lesson that lasts a lifetime. What kind of two year old can move furniture? And does the annoying smiley face mock me or am I just being overly sensitive.

Monkeyface did quip back. His final paragraph in his response was:

"As for having child safety lessons stick with us after you're gone, rest assured that Mrs-R and I will regress to our normal child-hazardous way of life after your visit. Loose matchbooks, hot pot handles within easy reach and playing with plastic bags are some of our favorite things!"

Sadly, I fear this is too subtle.

*Name changed to protect my own ass.

1:31 p.m. - 2003-06-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife