mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Plugging Along

Well I'm back from Nicaragua and it was a lovely trip. It's a beautiful country with a varied landscape and awesome people who will let you hitchhike in the back of their truck to a secluded beach where you can drink $ .75 beers in hammock all day long.

Returning home is somewhat less relaxing. Work is busy, school is killing me, the organization I sit on the board for is holding an auction and my responsibilities are plentiful, and the yard is still being redesigned. We are also trying to find a contractor for the kitchen and bath remodel which is much easier said then done. We tracked down one guy we really liked and he was all jazzed about the project but a week later he called and told us he took on another project and couldn't fit us in after all. I was crushed and have been referring to this incident as the "break up." I spend hours thinking about what I can do to get this guy back and wondering why he wants to throw away all we've built together.

Actually the whole contractor process is a bitch. The contractors in Seattle have more work then they can handle and are booked out months in advance. If a contractor reports immediate availability then I am suspicious. Yet I want the work done now....it's sort of a catch 22. Then there's dealing with scheduling. We'll be gutting the kitchen which means the ole BBQ will be getting good use for a bit which also means we need the yard completed. We also only have one bathroom. While I can shower at the gym or at Judy's this will certainly complicate our lives a bit. I won't get too specific. And the world of remodel is filled with so many choices - what type of cabinets, countertops, flooring, fixtures, etc. I haven't the energy to make all these decisions. On the other hand, we need to get this done and why not just have all the chaos happen at once?

I am totally unmotivated to train for Danskin this year. Totally. I go to the gym every day but I fail to push myself once there. I run at the same old pace never striving to get faster. I spin in a manner that works up a sweat but doesn't break any records. Sometimes I weight train, sometimes I don't. Swim, why bother? I know I won't drown in Lake Washington. There's no rhyme or reason to my plan and I am thoroughly unmotivated to change that. Setting goals seems laughable right now. I'm just content to plug along at mediocre on the fitness front. Well "content" isn't really the right word but I'm not sure what is. I'm just doing what needs to be done and not a whole lot else....because maybe that's the best I can do right now in this one particular area.

1:53 p.m. - 2006-05-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife