mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pick Me!

Hallelujah! I have finished my application for grad school! Good christ that was painful. I think it might have actually been harder than quitting smoking.

The personal statement nearly killed me. At one point I got on a total roll and banged the whole thing out in an hour. Unfortunately, it was a very late hour and by the light of day what I had composed looked like crap. I had actually used the phrase "rock your world" in my statement. So yeah, that one went in the trash.

Since then there have been roughly twenty more drafts. Some were too boastful ("I bring to this program unparalleled experience and perspective" - gah). Others were too desperate ("My sole desire is to be accepted to this program. No other program has captivated me the way this one has. Hold me!"). Others were filled with self doubt and loathing ("I could certainly benefit from what this program has to offer. I am lacking in grace and charm and I smell funny. Please help me!").

What I finally settled on straddles the line between confidence and conceit, it addresses areas I feel could use improvement, it affirms my commitment to my intended course of study, and lastly it has a hook. I hope it does the trick. Can everybody cross their fingers for the next three months?

2:27 p.m. - 2005-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife