mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Heart the Fremont Sunday Market

Spring had sprung on Sunday and in a fit of pure bliss brought on by sunlight, Pete and I hopped on our bikes and headed to the Fremont Sunday Market where we purchased these new potholders.


Why yes, that is supposed to be me.....


and this of course is supposed to be Pete.

The woman who was selling them also had these wonderful cowgirl themed potholders but there were no cowboys and we can only get boy and girl theme products in my home. It's that whole Feng Shui thing, you know.

Monday was another day of pure and unadulterated sunshine but sadly I had to remain at my office and could only glance out the window at the fun others seemed to be having. Still, the light had an effect. Not only did I take a step class at 6:00 AM in the morning but I went for a ten mile bike ride after work. With the upcoming triathlon (which I signed up for in the midst of my "I'm Thirty! Watch Me Go!" elation period that I had for about five seconds in January) quickly approaching I figure I better get serious about training.

To tell the truth, I have been working on my running for several months. This weekend I even gave in and bought super high tech sneakers with gel (?) and all kinds of support, etc. Now I can run twice as fast. Okay, that's not true but I am $100.00 lighter without all that cash weighing me down so I must be able to move faster.

The one area I have not given any attention to is swimming. In fact, I can't remember the last time I swam laps. I've looked into the local free swim times at the pool but it all happens so gosh darn early (and by early I mean 5:00 AM). I'm just not sure when I'll find the time to work on my aquatic skills. I did soak in a hot tub last week for four hours (I was drunk and chatting with Judy - by the time we crawled out we were both pickled prunes). Do you think that counts?

Anyway, I'm not too worried. I can force myself through the swim portion. My times may not be the best but I am reassured by this FAQ on the website:

"WILL I BE LAST?"

"No. Sally Edwards participates as the Final Finisher at every Danskin race, so be assured that you will not be the last one to cross the finish line."

What a relief. Now I guess the only question left is will I be the last person besides Sally? Because everyone knows Sally is just throwing the race and that the person who finishes right before Sally is truly the loser. Oh wait, I mean everyone's a winner at Danskin because finishing is winning. Does that sound convincing enough?

11:15 a.m. - 2004-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife