mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Minutia

The weekend looks promising. I have a haircut appointment in a half hour which is a perfect way to kick things off. I'm a bit uncertain about this new do idea though. I've had the mini-bang thing going on forever now and the maxi-bang look sort of scares me (not to mention all these wispy things). Well, change is good, right?

Drinks after work at Hatties with Judy and Jiri will definitely bring a smile to face. Maybe some takeout for dinner and definitely a bit of sleeping in on Saturday morning. Gardening and a book that needs to be read for book club on Thursday (yikes!) calls my name. And a trip to the market is definitely in the cards. Saturday night a meet up with the girls for a few more adult beverages and possibly some cover band lovin'. Really does it get any better than a Pixies cover band? No, I assure you it doesn't.

Oh, and I get to pick up that beautiful Persian lamb suit I had on hold tonight. Did I tell you about that? It's gorgeous and it's from the 1940's and I really didn't want to buy it (it was a little pricey for a vintage item) but I tried it on and it fits as if was made for me and it's lined in this fantastic golden satin and the A line skirt hangs just below my knee and it's simply PERFECT!!!

Sunday will be filled with planning for the trip. I can't believe I'll be in Italy at this time next week. I can't believe I haven't made reservations or written out an agenda! Any suggestions? So far we plan to spend some time in Florence and we fly into Milan. We were thinking of spending a day or two in Lake Como but that now looks unlikely. It's a resort town and most inns are closed throughout March. It turns out Nice, France is just a few hours from Milan and I've never been. Has anyone else? Is it a neat place? Geneva is a stones throw too but I have been to Geneva before. It's beautiful and I wouldn't mind going back but perhaps I should try to see something new? What do you think? Oh and Sunday evening we will be dining on a friends famous pizza and sipping wine as the sun goes down so I think it will be a splendid break.


And as for my favorite muppet bs-employee, I'd have to say I am a big fan of Beeker because he reminds me of my very first boyfriend in the 7th grade. His name was John Monas and his parents owned the fur store around the corner. My girlfriends said that if I went on a date with him maybe he'd give me a mink coat. So he asked me to the movies and we saw Rodney Dangerfield's Back to School. I don't remember too many details of the date but we walked back from the theater and his father was standing in front of the house with a belt in hand. As we approached he began screaming in Greek at John and then he started swinging that belt. I took off leaving the wails of my new love behind. It turns out that John swiped $20.00 out of the shops cash register to take me to that movie and was punished for three weeks. Three weeks is a long time in the mind of a 12 year old girl so when John's friend Chris asked me to go see La Bamba the following week I agreed. After all, John was probably never going to be allowed out again and I didn't want to die a spinster.

12:45 p.m. - 2003-02-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife