mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Orange

My morning started off in what I would normally consider the most perfect way. Big Boss came to me and said we should shut down early today. Everybody should go home at 3:00 PM. Then she added something about the high terror alerts, being in downtown, and a gut feeling she had. Somehow abandoning ship at the office seemed less fun. When I mentioned this information to Pete, he said "let's hope the terrorists get a late start then."

I watched as much news as I could stomach this morning (which wasn't much) and I thought about the major events of my life - the "where-were-you-when" moments. "Where were you when the Challenger Space Shuttle blew up?" "Where were you when you first heard about the Chernobyl disaster?" "Where were you when Baby Jessica fell down into the well?" "Where were you when the Exxon Valdez spilled oil on the shores of Alaska?" "Where were you when Iraq invaded Kuwait?" "Where were you when Nelson Mandela was freed?" "Where were you when the Berlin Wall came down?" "Where were you during the L.A. riots?" "Where were you when the Unabomber was finally arrested?" "Where were you when the Columbine tragedy occurred?" "Where were you the day the Twin Towers were toppled?"

There are so many others. Some are more personal life references. "Where were you danced your first slow dance with a boy or had your first kiss?" Some are silly pop culture references. "Where were you when you first played Pac Man or solved the Rubix Cube?" Some are just moments that seem to replay in my mind for no particular reason. I'm sure you have your own. "Where were you when ........." I guess what I'm hoping is that I don't have a "where were you when we attacked Iraq and millions of innocent people were murdered" reference added to my repertoire.

10:42 a.m. - 2003-02-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife