mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rest In Peace

1952 -2002

I remember myself as a geeky thirteen year old girl, dancing madly around my bedroom, with Lost In the Supermarket playing at top volume, repeating the line "I wasn't born so much as I fell out" over and over, until I collapsed from exhaustion. Those lyrics......I related, I connected. Maybe for the first time ever. London Calling has been a staple of my music collection no matter where I've gone since. I've listened to it while pre-funking for various hardcore shows, blared it while doing a little Spring cleaning, sung along while driving across the country, and cried to it this morning.

The Clash opened a whole new world to me. They taught me to look around and decipher truth from fairy tale. They helped me to look beyond the headlines. They gave me the confidence to ask questions and to demand answers. The Clash catapulted me from the complacency of eighties synth pop to a world of substance. They showed me that music could be more than a repetitive beats and catchy words strung together without an ounce of soul.

Joe, thank you for opening my eyes. I'd never be who I am without you. Rest in peace.

8:22 a.m. - 2002-12-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife