mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More, More, More......

So on our second day in Oaxaca, Pete and decided to take a guided tour of the ruins at Mitla and Teotitlan Del Valle, where hand-woven carpets are made. Now, it's important to realize that I pretty much despise guided tours. I like to explore things on my own, at my own pace, and I pride myself on self-sufficiency. I had only agreed to this outing because the woman running our B & B had really pushed it or at least I think that's what she was doing. She was pointing at a board with a list of places and speaking in Spanish so I assume she was saying it was a good tour. Honestly, for all I know, she was saying "this really sucks ass" but we signed up anyway and at 10:00 am we boarded a Minivan containing our fellow explorers.

We've established that my Spanish is not so good but have I made it clear that I am in fact resistant to admit just how little I know? You see, I studied Espanol for three years and I grew up in NYC where Newyorican is tongue of choice. I genuinely believe that I am Mexican at heart and thus I am embarrassed to let anyone know just how little I understand. I often will say "si" even when I have no idea what has been said to me. I mean if someone's talking to you and smiling, "si" just seems to be the right thing to say, don't you think? I want them to know that I am an amicable and agreeable gal. I should also mention that I am quick on my feet and often remember a word or two just in time to impress my companions. Take for example the laughter that ensued when I told a cab driver "Mas topes" (too many speedbumps) and smacked my forehead emphatically. Okay, maybe you had to be there for that but it was really funny at the time.

Back to the tour - Pete and I greeted our tourmates with a hearty "buenos dias" and they responded with an enthusiastic "hola." There were five woman in their 50's traveling together and originating from Argentina. They talked nonstop often turning to us to await our response, which was always "si." They smiled and told stories and somehow Pete and I sensed when the punchline was coming and laughed along. We were one happy family traveling along in our van through the countryside.

The tour was conducted entirely in Spanish but it was okay because you can pretty much figure out what being said when someone is pointing and talking. "Oh look, those are the ruins," is easy enough to figure out. Or "Hey, that guy weaves rugs and his sister makes the dye with insects," can be deduced just by watching the action. Things were going along just fine. The Argentineans were having a grand old time buying up every trinket and chatzka they could get their hands on. But the day was growing long and I was getting tired. I stopped paying close attention to what these women were saying to me. I gave up on formulating the proper words and sentences necessary to get by and so as we boarded the van to return to the city, a question was posed to me. The only word I caught was "novio" which means boyfriend and rather than have them think Pete and I were just dating, I attempted a response.

I'm still not sure what I said. I used the word "esposo" which is husband but I must have also mentioned that we were just married or something and not already three years into the sentence (just joking honey). These ladies somehow got the impression we were on our honeymoon. They began to hug us an wish us much luck and give us money!!! They were so happy and excited for us that I decided to keep this little misunderstanding to myself. I didn't want to disappoint them or anything. You understand right? I wasn't trying to cheat them of their pesos or anything but sometimes being unable to say what you really mean can pay off. Besides, I figured it was only fair considering all the times I said the wrong thing to someone on the street and wound up on a bus to the barrio.


I promise pictures soon. I dropped them off at Bartell's today and I'm having a little get together tomorrow but by this weekend Monkeyface and I should have them posted. Speaking of trip related stuff, remember I was going to have a drawing of the people I sent postcards to and one would receive a prize? Well, I drew names tonight and the winner is K. Maria! Congrats sweets, something from San Martin will soon be on it's way to you. And once again, if anyone ever receives a postcard, please let me know. I mailed them over a week ago and I'm beginning to worry. I once sent Tess an envelope full of candy and that never made it either. Do I have bad postal karma or what?


Hey everyone, join me in welcoming Ethelalcohol to diaryland! We met up in Oaxaca (well actually we met years ago but that was when I was all dark and miserable and in high school so it doesn't count) but trust me, she is one cool gal! Go read her and leave her a note, okay?

8:49 p.m. - 2002-11-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife