mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Free At Last, Free At Last ........ Is It Totally Inappropriate To Quote MLK For Something This Trivial?

So the house guests from Hell are gone but it took much sneaking around to make sure we avoided having to say good-bye again. Did I tell you that as soon as we got C*'s call telling us that they would need to stay another night, Pete and I began plotting a way to see them as little as possible before they left? Oh yes, we did everything we could without being outright rude to begin a new life free of these individuals.

First of all, we told them they had to take a cab back from the airport. This wasn't such a nasty thing to do considering I normally drive a two seater and had borrowed a friends car to drive them around town. I had returned this car immediately after dropping them off and so there was actually no way I could cart them to and fro, even if I wanted to. When they arrived back at the house (it was 11:30 PM, mind you) I handed them a key to our abode and some bus tickets. Pete and I had work in the morning. I told them to knock themselves out and that we wouldn't be back till late on Tuesday since we had some plans we just couldn't break. I said I'd do my best to try and catch them before they left but I doubted we'd make it. I quickly retreated into my bedroom and shut the door before they could try to engage me in some more inane conversation about their cats. Pete followed my lead.

Tuesday morning we awoke at the crack of dawn and readied ourselves in complete silence. We snuck out the door and headed off to our separate offices. I was at my desk by 6:30 AM. I emailed the neighbor who lives directly behind me and hipped her to the situation. She agreed that after work I could come to her house and spy out her back window to see if they had departed but I was unable to tell if they were still there from that vantage point. We had to switch to Plan B. My neighbor headed over to my house with a key to survey the premises. Her alibi in case they were present was simple. I had called her and requested she let the dog out because Pete and I were running late. Well, although our guests were not there, the luggage was and before my neighbor left, C* and her spouse returned. My neighbor tried to milk them for information, details of their intended departure, but they were tightlipped. Pete and I decided it was best if we slipped off to our secret hiding spot to plot our next move.

We deduced that if we waited long enough they'd have to leave. Their flight was at 9:00 PM, how long could they possibly inhabit our home? Then I saw C*'s spouse across the street at the Chai house and I freaked out. Oh no, I thought, they tracked us down! But luckily it was just my mind playing tricks on me. After having imbibed enough libations for a Tuesday night we headed to Fred Meyers. Normally, I have a rule. You can spend no more than a half hour in the supermarket per week because it is such a miserable place to be but last night I made an exception to that rule. We spent almost two hours there. I read all of the tabloids and I'm all caught up on Rosie's Drug Scandal. We tried on clothes we'd never buy. We ate that candy caramels that your supposed to buy in bulk and weigh at the register only we followed my other rule: anything you can eat while your still shopping is free! At a quarter to 8:00, we headed home.

Our home was empty, with only a note as evidence that they were ever there. It said simply, "Thanks for being such great hosts, see you next Summer!" Ummh, yeah, right. I don't think so.

11:48 a.m. - 2002-08-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife