mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fences

We have been building a fence around our yard. My initial plan was to build a fence as tall and protective as local laws would allow. I wanted absolutely no opportunities to see my neighbors and vice versa. I think this comes from being raised in NYC. Every house I ever lived in back there had these high, aluminum fences. People kept big barking dogs right behind their entryways and there were aluminum signs with messages like "KEEP OUT - PRIVATE PROPERTY!" I won't even get into the barbed wire.

Day 1 was spent removing the old fence and leveling the earth. Pete and I found ourselves completely exposed. The neighbors on all sides came out to check out what we were doing. We gabbed a bit and went on about our business. When a job got too intense, these same neighbors offered assistance.

Day 2 consisted of digging and hauling. Once again our neighbors were out and offered their help. I was floored by their offers. After all, this is a job that sucks.

By Day 3, I decided I really like our neighbors. They were interesting and funny and alot like the kind of person I want to be.

On Day 4, we built a fence. It's made of this sweet smelling cedar. You can see over it and it has big spaces in between the slats so we can see our neighbors and maybe invite them over for a barbeque. It will be just like a commercial for Arbor Mist wine.

I think I am truly a Seattlite at heart!

2:27 p.m. - 2002-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife