mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Little Less Jaded

My account here at Diaryland expired and I didn't even seem to notice. It's not that I don't like updating but I just fail to find the time these days. If I'm not at work, I'm at school. If I'm not at school, I'm doing my volunteer gigs or homework or trying to get in a long bike ride with my sweetness.

Speaking of sweetness, I just rediscovered Blur. God, I loved Blur when I was in college. We'd go to this place called the Griffin on Fridays and dance to Blur and Souxsie and Peter Murphy and Echo and the Bunnymen and the Soup Dragons and the Ocean Blue and on and on. I just loved music so much but now, I couldn't tell you when the last time I went dancing was. I suppose this has something to do with the fact that the Long Winters aren't the most danceable band in the world. Sigh. At least I see plenty of live music these days but you know, I just don't connect as strongly. I can't sing every word of every song of the new Pretty Girls Make Graves album. I don't jot down lyrics in my notebook and swoon over how that song is totally about me and my situation. I did that alot in high school and college. Maybe I was just overly self involved at the time or maybe I was more in touch with myself so more things spoke to me. Who knows?

Being in grad school is distinctly different from being an undergrad. I think a little bit of my excitement at returning to school had to do with the idea of rekindling some spark of that time. But you know, the freedom of leaving home for the unknown at seventeen years of age can only happen once. At the heart of it all, I have no interest in living in a dorm and drinking cheap beer again but to be a little less jaded and to experience a bit more surprise and awe would be nice.

4:09 p.m. - 2006-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife