mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vent

It�s amazing how you can come back from a most lovely and relaxing trip on Monday and by Friday you�re spun up and angry and a basketcase.

I am telecommuting today. This is probably a good thing since I am fairly disenchanted with the human race as of late.

School continues to be a challenge. This quarter included a professor so removed from reality she could be living on Mars. Repeated attempts to figure out what she wants in an assignment have met with little result. I haven�t a clue what I am supposed to take away from the class since assignments have been abstract and random. The readings have been outdated and irrelevant. My frustration level is high.

I made a decision earlier this year to only pursue relationships where I feel my effort is being equally reciprocated. With family, work and school on my plate, it seems that I need to prioritize. Now, I�ll admit I am PMS but it�s interesting to note the number of people who actually bother to maintain contact or check and see if you�re doing okay. I don�t know. Maybe I�m just being sensitive. After all, I see my husband and my closest friend every damn day which is probably more then most people get.

Which leads into this statement�..I have my first case of homesickness in a decade. I recognize that I actually have no desire to live in NY but I miss the people right now. I miss the upfront �here�s where you stand� attitude. I miss the friends I have who�ve known me since I was fourteen or eighteen or whatever. And in all actuality, I probably miss a moment that no longer exists where we all had more time for one another and weren�t saddled with so many responsibilities.

While I�m bitching, might I ask when thank you notes went out of vogue? In the nonprofit sector, it�s a well know fact that if you receive a donation you should send an acknowledgement within a week. If you don�t there�s a 75% chance that person will never donate again and rightfully so. Now I know you don�t give gifts to get thanks but come on people�.common courtesy. I have a friend whose kid I see pretty regularly. Thalia is three. Every time I give her a present I get a thank you note both from parent and child. It makes me feel good. Is that so wrong?

Work has been hell. We have a new hire who I believe to be psychotic. Every interaction with her is filled tension and anger. I spend a lot of time avoiding her � no small feat in an office of six.

Wow. This has been a hell of a cheery entry, hasn�t it? I�ll end on an up note, I got my first piece of fan mail for an article I wrote for the Homeless Times this week. That was pretty cool.

11:55 a.m. - 2006-02-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife