mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Past Month in Review

Wow. Has it really been a month since my last entry?

Let's answer the big question first. Did we get the new house? Sadly, no. Time restrictions limited us. Since we were leaving for vacation within a day or two of our bid, my agent said we would have to forgo appearing at the inspection and sign legal rights over to a friend "just in case anything comes up while you are gone." I love my friends and I find they make excellent choices but I was not about to put any of them under the pressure of deciding what constitutes a true issue within a home for me. Pete and I decided to roll the dice and see if the house was still on the market when we returned from Belize. It was not. I had fallen for this house pretty hard. Look at this living room and this kitchen ...... can you really blame me? And the lot was huge! Two full bathrooms people .... three bedrooms, an office, and a formal dining room.

Anyway, we are back at square one with the search. We've looked at other houses but nothing has come close to that colonial. It's sort of like coming to the conclusion that you've found your one true love and then being forced to go out on dates with other people. It's seems futile.

Belize was lovely. We toured Mayan ruins, bicycled on the beach, rode on tini tiny plan to a tini tiny island, tubed through caves, saw monkeys and snakes and parrots, and did a whole lot of other stuff that seems in the real distant past now. My family only drove me a little bit crazy and in fact they were pretty adventurous. They cave tubed and trekked a bit. I did find myself faced with new concerns though. My mother chain smokes and when you consider that every member of her family has succumbed to cancer, I find it difficult to watch. I can almost envision her death in a hospital bed and it doesn't seem too far off. My father has a thyroid condition that causes him to get thinner every time I see him. His legs are like sticks and he has to take a millions pills every day to regulate his metabolism. It's difficult to process this information. I can't help but wish they'd eat soley whole foods, initiate exercise regimes, spend less time working, etc. It's not as if my parents don't have the resources to have all their meals prepared and delivered or to hire a personal trainer. They just seem stuck in this time period when people didn't understand how to care for their bodies and souls. Hokey, I know but I get so emotional about them. I'd really do anything to get my mom to give up smoking. I just can't stand to see another person I love die from cancer.

I think I'll move into the here and now before I make myself sick. I'm back in school. The classes this quarter are intense. I'm loving the challenge but I occasionally get overwhelmed. Stress manifests itself in the form of losing things in my life. Wednesday night, Pete and I headed out to dinner at this fine restaurant. After dinner, I returned home to the huge pile of homework that greets me daily. I worked away till about 11:00. I got up at 5:30 AM and picked Judy up for our daily dose of gym. We then headed to work at which point I discovered I'd completely lost my wallet. The last time I'd seen it was in the car before we went to Volterra. I called Pete and begged him to search the vehicle. No luck. I double checked all my bags. Nada. I hoped I'd find it on the couch or the dining room at home after work but I found zip. I called the restaurant and nothing. I finally decided to drive to where I'd parked before dinner. I wasn't feeling particularly optimistic but I guess the gods decided to cut me a break and there in the gutter was my wallet. And everything was in in it including cash!!! I felt like I'd won the lottery.

Next week is my 32nd birthday and I am happy as a clam about the celebrations that lay ahead. On Thursday, Pete and I will head to Portland where we stay overnight at this hotel! We even have a lovely starlight room. Oh and Des is coming too because my obsession with my dog knows no bounds. I will get the opportunity to see an old cruise ship crony and do some catching up. On Friday we will head to a cabin in Mt. Hood where will will be joined by friends for some skiing and cooking and hot tubing and trivial pursuit. It should be a most excellent weekend.

I think we're all caught up now. I have been reading all of you even when I don't write. For those people I owe emails, I promise to get in touch soon.

12:26 p.m. - 2006-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife