mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sayonara November!

Thanksgiving really couldn't have been better. The day started out with a trip to see the newly born Anna Lee. After twelve hours of labor and a C-section, L produced a most lovely little girl. This is pretty big compliment when you consider that I think most babies are butt ugly. I made a special point of letting Anna Lee know that she was not only beautiful but smart and strong. I then lectured her on societies skewed value system and the emphasis placed on looks versus intellect and she promptly fell asleep.

We were then treated to a delicious feast at RDG and R's home. There was a vegetable torte and potatoes and gravy, crab dip, a million kinds of cheese, a Mulligatawny courtesy of Pete, my own chipolte sweet potatoes, and a yummy pumpkin cheesecake. Oh and wine - lots of wine. Please note that there was not a dull turkey to be found on these premises. I find turkey to be almost as interesting as meatloaf. I've tried recipes from Bon Appetite, Gourmet, Cooks Illustrated, etc. and still can't muster enthusiasm. It's fine and filling but not a food for celebration in my opinion. And let's face it, I'm an anti-traditionalist. I hate when whole holidays are structured around "must-dos" like open a can of cranberry sauce and concoct the green bean and fried onion casserole.

Friday we went to see the Long Winters. You know that guy who does the Soup on E!? The website tells me his name is Joel McHale. Well he was there. He's really tall in person. The Long Winters were great as always. I just wish they'd start playing a bit earlier so I could get to bed at a decent hour.

Thursday is the final class of the fall quarter. Can I get an amen? I think I pulled A's. I completed my final oral presentation last week and really killed with it. There was laughter and tears. Joy and pain. Sunshine and rain. Really, I'm a pretty devious person. You see, I deliberately stumbled a bit on my first presentation, made improvements on second and hit the nail on the head with the third. Why? Well I think the professor will now feel as if he has actually "taught" me something. If I had been perfect all the way through, he might not feel needed this way we all feel good about ourselves and I get an A. Or at least that's my plan.

I am so looking forward to the tiniest bit of free time this next month. I plan to go skiing, and read books, and sew, and I think a visit to the new spa is in order. I have a number of articles to complete for the newspaper (my latest piece is out now) and a couple of other freelance jobs but that will be a walk in the park without academic assignments. Also, I want to take a nice, long nap. And somewhere in there I'll fit in that trip to Belize. December should be a-okay.

3:19 p.m. - 2005-11-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife