mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Longest Week On Record

Longest week ever! Pete and I agreed on Tuesday that it felt like he had been gone for a full month but he returns tonight! Poor guy suffered from a severe headache all day yesterday due to a lack of down time and too much junky food. I haven't been able to sleep and the dog has been a basketcase. Pointers are neurotic to begin with but they really lose it when their owners go away. When both of us leave town we actually have to drug him.

Pete did make a few strong contacts this week that are likely to benefit the independent consulting he has been doing. Perhaps it won't be too long before he can get a large enough client base to quit his day job and then Des will have companionship all the time.


I haven't talked about my training much recently. Judy and I still hit the gym at 5:30 AM on a daily basis. We both started new weight regimes which are beating our arms and legs up pretty bad. My running is improving however I haven't gone swimming since October and I need to change that. I also want to start doing gyrotonics, which is like yoga with resistance. I just need to find a little more time.

There are a few characters at the newish gym. There's a guy who always seems to be in a world of hurt as he benchpresses a million pounds. He grunts and snorts and then throws the weights after he's done his reps. It's amusing to watch at the crack of dawn. There's an old man who wears a short sleeve button up shirt and hiking shorts held on with a bungee cord. He likes to get on a treadmill and run at full tilt for thirty minutes. Watching him makes me nervous because he really seems on the verge of heart failure. Lastly, there is a woman who is about eight months pregnant. I've been checking her out since she started to show. She's really impressive. I can tell that the machines aren't as comfortable for her these days, that she has to shift her form to fit properly on the elliptical machine but she keeps on trucking away. I figure if she can get up there and do it on a day to day basis , I should be about to create an hour a week for gyrotonics.


Remember the roses Pete sent me? They were congratulations for my published article however the reactions of my coworkers were pretty funny. Despite the fact that Pete sends flowers to my office a few times a year, the two divorcees immediately asked what Pete had done to me. "What do you mean," I asked. "Well whatever it was it must have been pretty bad to warrant so many roses." "Can't a man do something just to be nice," I asked. The gay man I work with responded that he knew it was plain thoughtfulness on my husbands part because the price for buying off my anger is more along the lines of diamonds. These people know me a bit too well.


Lastly, we get to see Kaymess and AH this weekend! We haven't gotten us butts to Portland since their move and our hopes of meeting up with them at a lovely cabin for Thanksgiving were dashed when we discovered that other people started planning their holiday getaway in August and took all the neat abodes in the Mt. Hood area. It was a pleasant surprise to learn that they'd have time for a little brunch event at our home. I'm planning on aspargus and leek frittata, hashbrowns made from scratch, my secret recipe bloody mary's and apple smoked bacon. I love brunch and I love getting to see good friends.

11:11 a.m. - 2005-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife