mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Picture-riffic 4th of July Weekend

Before I go on and on about our wonderful weekend in Mt. Hood, I want to add a few details to Chiara's account of our evening at Skate King which was glorious in and of itself.

Skate King is in a scary strip mall on the east side. There are no windows and as far as I could tell only one entrance and exit. The space has been suspended in time, perhaps in 1982. There is a giant skate in the corner (pictured below) and a florescent Seattle skyline painted on the wall.

 skate king (17)

It was immediately apparent that Chiara and I were tourists in a foreign land. The other skaters not only owned their own shiny skates but also seemed to know each other intimately. I overheard the following conversation while lacing up.

"Hey Larry, we missed you last week. Where were you at?"

"Oh, on a business trip in Detroit but I totally brought my wheels and found a great rink there."

He brought his skates on a business trip! To Detroit! These people take their skating real seriously.

It's true that I drooled over a fellow skaters Corvette. They really are my favorite car (I know I'm cheesy). The owner was what you might describe as nebbish but hot damn he said he had a "corale of 'Vettes." I thought Chiara might bust out laughing as I ohh'ed and ahh'ed about how sexy these ridiculous vehicles are.

As Chiara mentioned, the demographics of the skate crowd were not at all what I had imagined. I guess I assumed it would be a nostalgic hipster haven. As it turns out, that is far from the case (see guy with rat tail below). It's primarily male, mid to late forties, and heavily heterosexual.

 skate king (9)

Here's the thing, I know it sounds like I am bagging on the skaters but I totally don't mean to because they were amazing. Seriously, I can't imagine how much time and effort it would take to learn moves like the regulars. There was the guy who could breakdance on skates, and the middle aged couple who waltzed together on skates, and the guy who glided around like a professional ice skater. At one point the DJ called out "it's now time for backwards skate" and we had to clear the floor. I may be able to roller-skate forward without falling but I can't fathom even trying to reverse the action. And for a whole song no less! Not on your life.

I had an amazing time and I could see why one would do this regularly. I loved the way my body seemed to recall the particular gliding motion involved in skating. And the fans blowing my hair away from my face made me feel like a superstar. I also got to spend time with a good friend and I even worked up a bit of a sweat. I will definitely go again.


The ascent

If you look above, you'll see us at the base of Mt. Hood. I think everyone's body language is saying the same thing - "Are we really going to climb up this thing?!!"

Yes, yes we were and we did but first a little background. I often doubt my abilities when it comes to hiking and thus I need to be tricked into taking on harder climbs like the one pictured above. I leave the deceit up to our good friend Jiri who frequently says "Oh it is moderately difficult" when the hike is in fact rated "Most Difficult" by all known guidebooks.

The hike was strenuous. I met a woman along the way who was actually suffering from elevation sickness. I took her experience as a warning and stayed well hydrated and fueled. We ascended along side the Elliot Glacier which was pretty cool. The dogs, burning up from all the trail running, would roll about on the ice periodically to lower their body temperature. I think the hike took a few years off Desmond's life.

  desmond

We hiked to the spur at about 8500 feet. For those of you not into torture, this is really fucking high. It's also really cool. From our final resting point you could see Mt. Adams, Mt. St. Helens, Mt. Jefferson and Mt. Rainier. This was truly something special. Unfortunately, I don't seem to have a picture of it BUT I do have a picture of all of us collapsing at the top.

 Top of the Mountain

Needless to say, the cabin's hot tub came in very handy after that climb. Also, there were these fantastic fajitas to be enjoyed that evening and a spot of wine.

Those of us who weren't crazy enough to climb up Mt. Hood twice in one weekend (Jiri and Judy being the more touched in the head of the group) used the following day to listen to a new This American Life and complete a nice, meandering trek to Ramona Falls. We also read Shop magazine which was supplied by cabin rental company for our enjoyment. We all mused that Lucky magazine should really take a lesson from Shop in terms of naming. Obviousness is key when putting together a 200 page ad. Also Shop magazine seems to understand not all of my clothes can be fabulous but they strongly suggest I own at least one $1000.00 outfit for special occasions. I'll see what I can do.

The weekend also contained plates filled with blueberry pancakes, bonfires and smores, bike rides and sleepy puppies. On our final day, Pete and I went swimming in Lake Trillium. The water was cool and refreshing and the snowcapped mountain loomed directly above us. It was hard to imagine that in another day, we'd be back at the office but here we are. Blah. Is it Friday yet?

12:13 p.m. - 2005-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife