mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Future's So Bright......

Yesterday started off badly. I got up at the butt crack of dawn to swim but upon arriving at the pool I learned the boiler had broken and the facility was closed. I raced back to my house, changed into sweats and headed to the gym. I lost fifteen minutes of workout time in the process. I also forgot my MP3 player so I basically stared at the TV screens and tried to read lips. The news kept showing footage of that officer who was standing at the edge of the highway but was then careened into by an SUV. They played it over and over again and I watched it with no sound until I felt kind of sick.

I left the gym and drove back home in the pouring rain and rushed through my getting ready for work process. The dog tracked mud from the yard into the kitchen, through the living room, and finally into my bed and onto my white sheets. I had no time to clean it up.

I couldn't find my bus pass (although the driver let me on anyway) or my umbrella but it did stop raining and the sun came out - well for two minutes and then there were sun showers and then it was hot and dry. Later it rained some more.

I got to my office and spilled coffee on myself and the fax machine jammed and I got my period. I went out for lunch at noon and it was sunny but a storm was moving through and as I was returning with my salad the sky opened up and I was standing in the rain but looking out into the dry sun.It was raining just on me, I swear! It was bizarre and completely annoying.

I was feeling pretty cranky. Around 3:00 PM I got an e-mail that changed everything. I got a partial scholarship for grad school!!! I actually got about a quarter of the total tuition I need! I'm so happy I could cry. Sallie Mae and I will be doing a little less business this time around. I also have a few other scholarship applications out there that I am waiting to hear back on.

The day ended on our porch. Pete spotted a rainbow and it was stunning.

This morning the pool was open, I had a great swim followed by a perfect ride into work (complete with treats because it's Bike To Work Day here in Seattle). I have tickets to see the Rat City Roller Girls this weekend and plans for another long ride to earn me some more saddle time. Oh and Copper River Salmon is here so I'll be heading down to Pike Place and grabbing me some of that to grill up on an alder plank. Maybe a little asparagus and some chocolate dipped strawberries? This weekend looks promising!

11:09 a.m. - 2005-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife