mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Steady Diet of Sugar

On Saturday Pete and I biked 52 miles, mostly uphill. The thing about cycling uphill is you keep thinking to yourself "If only I can get to the top then I'll coast down and that'll be fun." Sadly, each time we summited the trail flattened out and there was no coasting to be had - none! WTF?

On Sunday we were paralyzed. Our muscles were throbbing. Even my eyeballs hurt. I had to stop and think to myself, did I really sign up for the RSVP? Is it really my intention to bike 105 miles one day and then get back in the saddle and ride 78 more the following day? Am I really that much of a masochist? The answer is yes. Even when I was limping around on Sunday unable to do much more than mainline water, I felt pretty good. I am pushing myself towards a worthy goal. I love a challenge and this certainly qualifies as one. I can do this - I will do this.


Pain didn't stop me from stitching up a new skirt on Sunday.

skirt 2

skirt 3

This is from Simplicity Pattern 7090 and frankly, the picture doesn't do it justice. In fact, it's probably the best skirt I have made so far. I really need to get a better shot to show you guys. My camera sucks and the room was dark. However, my abs are gaining some definition and that's good.


I just finished reading Candyfreak by Steve Almond and all I can think about is um, candy - go figure. I'm especially intrigued by the Hazelnut 5 Star Bar. Must-get-hands-on-one-now! I did get a taste of the Idaho Spud and boy was that a disappointment. I tried to relive the joy that is a frozen Charleston Chew but it was less delicious then I recalled. My favorite childhood candy were $.05 Swedish Fish but I recently had one and it tasted like plastic. My mother always had Nestle Crunch around and we'd visit the Hershey Factory and Amusement Park in PA once a year until the 1980's hit and it went all ghetto. Truth of the matter is, I don't much dig junk candy. If I'm going to have a treat I prefer Belgian dark chocolate from Neuhaus. I respect the kitsch factor of a Tootsie Roll (which we always called Toushie Roll) but the taste leaves me flat.

When I was really young, I used to mash up Oreo Cookies and Jello Pudding Pops and then shape it into a cake which I'd serve to my friends. Is that disgusting or what? I also subsisted almost entirely on these $.25 sugar water drinks, otters pops, and Sweet Dreams Paperbacks for teens the summer of my tenth year. It's truly amazing I'm alive, well and fairly intelligent.

3:07 p.m. - 2005-05-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife