mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Very Gen X Weekend

I think I came up with Plan B. If grad school doesn't work out, I'm totally becoming a Rat City Roller Girl! Pete and I went out to see the inaugural bout on Saturday night and were very impressed. In fact, we both think we might have found a sport we enjoy watching! Of course, women's Roller Derby is more on par with WWF then say baseball but those women killed Saturday night. I especially enjoyed the Throttle Rockets who exhibited power, beauty, and drive. Also, their costumes were also the best thing going.

The bout took place at a genuine roller rink just outside the city limits. It was as if this place had been suspended in 1977. It took me back to my third grade birthday party at United Skates of America complete with a Cookie Puss cake from Carvel and Glo Sticks for everyone. At half-time we were treated to the musical stylings of the Briefs. It was a pretty punk rock night as the DJ's seemed to have raided my high school record collection. I haven't had that much fun in some time. I certainly plan to become a season ticket holder.

I also finished a skirt this weekend. You can check it out here. The best thing about this garment is that it matches the kitchen! I love clothes that go with the house. I have this fantasy of being an eccentric old lady who has different outfits to change into depending on what room she's in. I'll have a leopard outfit for lounging on the chaise and a robin's egg blue dress for hanging in the dining room, a yellow muumuu for working in the office and so on.

Sunday Pete and I hit our local cereal bar, Stuff, for lattes and tabletop Ms. Pacman. Pete also enjoyed a bit of Peanut Butter Captain Crunch and a side order of wuppin' my ass. I can get up to about the third board before I die. I had heard the first thing to go as you get older is your joystick skills and now I know that's true.

We also caught the matinee of Gunner Palace, a documentary about the Field Artillery, a.k.a. "The Gunners" who make their home in the bombed-out pleasure palace of Uday Hussein in Baghdad. It was very moving film. I highly recommend it.

Finally, we did our taxes and guess friggin' what? We owe! You know how they tell you buy a house and you'll have this huge write-off and the government will send you thousands of dollars and also a box of gold bars? Well, I'm here to call bologna on that. I will say that we didn't owe too much and that my goal is always to either break even or fall within two hundred dollars either way. I don't believe in big returns. I like to make use of my money (and keep the government's grubby little paws off of it). We fell just a little bit outside that $200.00 boundary so I won't cry too hard about it.

Also, it's interesting to note that I only figured out that Sunday was Easter after my mother called to wish us a good one. There was no ham at our home. I dicovered through deep self analysis that I hate holidays that demand a specific food be cooked. I tend to rebel and cook something completely opposite. Like on St. Patrick's Day, I didn't cook corn beef and cabbage, I made Pad Thai. And then there was the Christmas we had takeout Indian instead of a turkey with all the trimmings. It's not that I have anything against corn beef and cabbage or turkey but I just don't think I should have to eat them because the calendar tells me too. I have enough things I have to do. However, it's interesting to note that I am by no means opposed to half price chocolate bunnies at Neuhaus. In fact, I'm off to score a little cocoa love right now.

1:47 p.m. - 2005-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife