mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tin Ceilings and Square Footage

Pete and I finished installing this tin ceiling in our dining room (which we completely renovated from ugly wood paneling and yellow and brown linoleum) awhile ago but I hadn't had time to post. I really dig it.

You don't see too many tin ceilings on the West Coast so this is sort of an homage to our Northeastern roots and we don't even have to brave the snow. Woohoo!

Here's a wider view.

In other news, Pete and I almost purchased a house this weekend. Yeah, I know we have a house but this one was twice as big (4 bedrooms people) and I'd have had my very own office/craftroom. I guess you are wondering what we doing looking at houses what with the fact that we already are committed to the house we have. Let me start by saying, I wasn't deliberately looking. I was simply going for a bike ride on a nice day.

I have a certain compulsion with going by every place Pete and I have ever lived in Seattle. I'm not sure what I am looking for. Perhaps I'm hoping I'll fall into some sort of weird time warp and catch myself taking out the trash five years ago. Whatever. I just have to do this once a month or I'll explode. Anyway, I was riding by our old rental house and right next door there was a "For Sale" sign. It was my former landlord's house. I had heard he sold a few years ago. It's a big house with three fruiting trees and a 5000 square foot lot. It also has 2.5 bathrooms! At last, Pete and I could pee simultaneously.

Well, I simply knew the house would be outrageously priced. Home prices in our area have skyrocketed in the last few years. You can imagine how surprised I was to find out that the asking price was actually fairly reasonable. Turns out the person who bought it from my former landlord was a college kid (more precisely a college kids parents - can you say spoiled brat) and he and six of his buddies have been living there for the last few years. He is now ready to move off to L.A. where he will pursue a career in the motion picture industry. Yeah, I couldn't contain my laughter either.

To make a long story short, we toured the house got real excited, and then returned to reality. Pete and I are still restoring our current home and it would be a disservice to sell it at a reduced rate due to it's unfinished nature. We could rent our house and live in my old landlords house but I have no desire to be a landlord. I already have one full time job, thank you very much. Plus I can think of very few people I would trust in that house and those people are already firmly ensconced in leases. Lastly, Pete and I have had our hearts set on getting some land in the country, on a lake somewhere and slowly building our dream cabin. Buying my old landlords house would definitely put that dream on the back burner for a bit. Alas, the house was a no go.

With that little adventure behind us, Pete and I have begun Kitchen Remodel 2005. Stay tuned for boring updates about maple cabinets, recessed lighting, and dishwashers. The excitement never ends.

1:02 p.m. - 2005-03-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife