mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MEME

Via K- Maria


I: Ten Random Songs
Instructions: Put your MP3 player on "shuffle" and list the first ten songs that play, no matter how embarrassing.

Okay this could be very humiliating. I have some real crap on my Zen Micro - like a lot of old country and a bunch of club music remixes for working out (because the gym is mostly where I use the thing). Let's see.

The City Is Here - The Futureheads
Phew! That one's not so bad. These guys are super fun and remind me of Devo.

The Only One I Know - The Charlatans UK
My freshman year of college, I'd go dancing at this alterna-bar, the Griffin, every Thursday and this song was in heavy rotation along with a bunch of Manchester pop. I have very fond memories of those days. I had bigger balls than any eighteen year old should have and I felt freer than I ever would again. There's something about that first year that your out on your own that's so empowering. When I listen to this song, I see myself in some oversized thrift store dress and a black velvet beret, pill box red hair care of Manic Panic, smoking a camel light and sipping a Jack Daniels and Coke.

Evening Chai -Blue Scholars
I adore this album. I love alot of the hip hop coming out of the Northwest right now but these guys and the Lifesavas are probably my favorites.

Jolene - Dolly Parton
Shaddup, would you?!!

Surrender - Cheap Trick
This is an awesome song to run to and I have to admit, Cheap Trick is like my guilty pleasure band.

II: Question and Answer Section

Read question. Answer question.

What is the total amount of music files on your computer?
A whole bunch, mostly stolen.

The last CD you bought is:
The Voiceless Among Us at Housing Advocacy Day. It's a folk album put together by a bunch of formerly homeless children. The proceeds went to a housing transition program. Before that, Bright Eyes "I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning” and Bright Eyes “Digital Ash in a Digital Urn.”

What is the song you last listened to before beginning this meme?
The Breaks by Kurtis Blow. I am celebrating Black History month, okay?

III: Write down five songs you often listen to or that mean a lot to you.

Boy, this questions hard. I'm not as conscious of what I listen to as I use to be and often, I choose to listen to KEXP as opposed to deliberately selecting an album and putting it on. Let me give it a shot anyway.

Trouble by Ray LaMontagne. This song sounds sort of like Cat Stevens and yet I still like it. Go Figure.
Childrens Story by Slick Rick. Pete and I listened to Def Jam compilation on our cross country trip to tie the knot. This was on it. It's sort of "our" song.
Something Beautiful by Clem Snide.
It Mek by Desmond Dekker.
Bowling Green by Neko Case.
Through the Wire by Kanye West.

IV: Pass this stick to three persons and explain why.

myra lee because I am bummed that she doesn't write as much as she use to and this kind of forces her hand.
reddirtgirl because I think she'll forgive me for forcing her to do this
and ditto on arajane although she gets a free pass since she's sick and has midterms.

8:27 p.m. - 2005-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife