mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fingers Crossed

This picture isn't the greatest but it gives you an idea of how we looked for the U.S.E. show last Saturday. I'm hoping someone got a few good pics of Troop 666 since the digital went on the fritz a few minutes after the above shot was taken. The costumes were all finished in time but sadly my great idea for handbags that looked like Girl Scout cookies proved a little too time intensive.

I probably forgot to mention I cut off all my hair a month ago. It's short and choppy and much better for the morning running since I got sick of getting a mouthful of hair after every workout.


Yes, I voted. Thank you for asking. In fact, I voted first thing this morning. My boss gave the staff the whole day off to vote and then do a good deed or a service for the community. I think all bosses should be like my boss. I should also mention my entire office voted for Kerry and that I do not deal with anyone on a day-to-day basis who is a Bush supporter. I consider myself pretty lucky but also a bit sheltered. Chiara once wrote an entry about how political debate among her friends is pretty much nonexistent because one person says something like "President Bush's stance that sex education in schools should focus solely on abstinence is ludicrous" and everyone will nod their heads in agreement. God, I wish I could find that entry because it's far more eloquent than what I'm writing here but I pretty much live in the same bubble of urban liberalism and I often forget that their are people with opinions that are completely opposite of those in my social circle. But today I can't forget that and today I feel terribly sick and nervous.

The only thing that makes me feel better is knowing I was seriously a part of this year's election. I voted in every local election leading up to today. I participated in Washington State's Caucus. I went to Move On meetings and attended parties in Kerry's honor. I made it a point to watch every single debate and today I voted. And now we all wait.


So you may recall my whole debate I have been having with myself regarding grad school. It seems I've come to a decision. I've going to go ahead and apply. I haven't been very clear on my course of study here and I guess this confused some of my real life friends who thought "Why on earth is she going to get a masters in English Literature/Creative Writing (my undergrad major)? What will she do with that?" Well, I'm not considering studying anything like that at all. In fact, the route I've decided to go is so ridiculously practical it scares me.

I'm going apply to get my Masters in nonprofit leadership, which is sort of like an MPA with a focus on 501c3 organizations. After almost five years at my current workplace, a nonprofit that funds affordable housing, I feel confident that this is the atmosphere I want to spend the rest of my professional life in. Even when I have a terrible day, I am able to tell myself that I did something good for someone out there. A number of months ago I ran an essay contest for our newsletter in which I invited people to write in and tell us about what their affordable home meant to them. I wish I could list some of the letters I received here. They really made me think about what other things I could do to take a lead role in bettering my community.

I have admired the president of our organization since I started working for her. She walked away from a very profitable lending position to take on the challenges of conducting a newly formed nonprofit and furthering a cause she truly believed in. She has endured all sorts of changes in political and economic climate and has stayed true to our organization's mission. She was ridiculously supportive when I approached her with my idea. I was so nervous. This is such a commitment of my time, energy and finances. But she made it clear she believed in me and thought this was an excellent path. She was able to list all my skills as she saw them and she made me feel very confident about my choice. She noted that I have passion and energy and agreed that the organization would assist me in any way possible.

So there it is. Now I begin the application process. Please keep your fingers crossed both for me and John Kerry.

1:31 p.m. - 2004-11-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife