mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Big Girl Bed

Over the holiday weekend, we purchased a new mattress and box spring A "big girl" bed I call it.

It's the first quality bed I have ever owned, the first one to have correct support for my back, the first one to have a big fluffy pillow top, and the first pure white set (cheap mattresses are always covered in god awful flower pattern quilting).

It seems strange that I've made it to thirty without developing severe back problems considering my bedding choices.

Upon moving into my first apartment at age eighteen, I had no bed. However, I did own a sleeping bag which I situated in the corner where I would one day put a bed should I ever be able to afford one. I slept on the cold wood floor (think January in New England) in a cheap, matted down sleeping bag for just under a year till I saved up $50.00 and purchased a piece of crap twin mattress.

Ah, the twin mattress....this was barely better than the floor. I am fairly certain it was used since it smelled like old, crusty feet but the sales guy assured me that was not the case. The springs not only creaked but they also herniated against the fabric. I found myself contorting myself around the protrusions in a manner strikingly similar to Ula the Pain Proof Rubber Girls act at the Coney Island Sideshows. Just as things were really getting out of hand, a friend offered to sell me her waterbed cheap.

Oh the waterbed, it seemed so sexy and enticing - that is until I got it home and tried to fill it with water. Then it just seemed like a pain in the ass. I ran a hose through the whole apartment, from the kitchen to the living room on to the bedroom. Unbeknownst to me the hose had holes and leaked water everywhere. It was a disaster and the bed never quite got full enough. It was terribly uncomfortable and smelled like mildew. I also want to mention that a water bed in January in New England is no better than sleeping on a cold floor. And as for the sexiness, not so much. Also, these were my heavy drinking years. Waterbeds and total inebriation don't mix.

Then there was the futon I pulled out of the garbage. Stop looking at me like that! It was perfectly fine and it smelled less like feet than that first mattress. I slept on it for two years all the while thinking "this feels like laying on a concrete slab." I've been told futons are supposed to be great for your back. I've also been told that colonics is great for your intestines. I don't have any plans to get a colonic. I also don't plan to ever sleep on a futon again.

When Pete and I moved in together, he purchased a mattress set for us. It was one of those mattress and box spring sets for $99.00. We figured we'd use it for a bit, till we got a little more settled then upgrade to a cherry wood sleigh bed with an ultra deluxe mattress (to dream the impossible dream....). But you know, time gets away from you and the next thing you know you've been sleeping on a craptacular bed for seven years and the springs are squeaking again and it smells like your feet and wet dog and you just have to give in and drop a wad of cash on a decent bed. And since you're already breaking the bank, you might as well get the pillow top.

So we got a new bed and it's great and I'm off to sleep but first I must say this. Just say no to Joey. I was so happy when Friends finally ended. I thought, "At last I don't have to hear about these stupid fictional characters anymore" (FYI- my cousin talked to me for thirty minutes at my grandmothers funeral about Monica and Chandler's relationship). The weeks leading up to the finale killed me. Every damn news show wondered how we'd all continue living without Friends. Well, we're all doing just fine and I'd be even better if Joey tanks, mmmkay? Thanks.

8:29 p.m. - 2004-09-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife